- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Immigration ruling ‘fully within’ Obama powers, says adviser Plouffe

Posted By admin On June 18, 2012 @ 2:11 am In Featured Stories | Comments Disabled

Ben Geman
The Hill [1]
June 18, 2012

Senior White House adviser David Plouffe insisted Sunday that President Obama’s decision to defer deportation of certain illegal immigrants who came to the country as children was “fully within” the president’s authority and not made with the 2012 election in mind.

“This is not a political move. This builds on a lot of steps that we have already taken,” Plouffe said on the CNN program “State of the Union.”

Mitt Romney, in aninterview to air [2] on CBS later Sunday, accused the White House of making the decision based on politics. Romney already faces a deficit among Latinos whose votes could be pivotal in battleground states.

But Plouffe said repeatedly that the move wasn’t politically motivated. “Who knows how the politics will turn out. But this decision was the right decision,” Plouffe said.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/immigration-ruling-%e2%80%98fully-within%e2%80%99-obama-powers-says-adviser-plouffe.html

URLs in this post:

[1] The Hill: http://thehill.com/blogs/ballot-box/presidential-races/233075-wh-adviser-plouffe-immigration-policy-change-wasnt-political

[2] interview to air: http://thehill.com/blogs/blog-briefing-room/news/233071-romney-says-politics-a-big-part-of-obama-immigration-decision

[3] Obama Names Immigration Activist as Chief Domestic Policy Adviser: http://www.prisonplanet.com/obama-names-immigration-activist-as-chief-domestic-policy-adviser.html

[4] Obama did not order Van Jones’ resignation, adviser says: http://www.prisonplanet.com/obama-did-not-order-van-jones-resignation-adviser-says.html

[5] Abuse of stop and search powers is a crime, says Lawrence inquiry adviser: http://www.prisonplanet.com/abuse-of-stop-and-search-powers-is-a-crime-says-lawrence-inquiry-adviser.html

[6] Police Terror Stop Powers Stripped Following European Court Ruling: http://www.prisonplanet.com/police-terror-stop-powers-stripped-following-european-court-ruling.html

[7] Ron Paul: “I Don’t Fully Endorse Romney For President”: http://www.prisonplanet.com/ron-paul-i-dont-fully-endorse-romney-for-president.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.