- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

In shift, Medicare would pay for sex-change operations

Posted By admin On March 29, 2013 @ 12:18 pm In Money Watch,Tile | Comments Disabled

Paul Bedard
Washington Examiner [1]
March 29, 2013

For the first time since 1981, when it dubbed sex-change operations “experimental,” Medicare has opened the door to covering transexual operations, adding to the growing list of operations that would be allowed under Obamacare.

Acting on a new request, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services [2]said it is starting a new analysis that could lift the spending ban for sex-change operations with a goal of making a decision two days after Christmas and on the eve of Obamacare kicking in January 1.

A 30-day public comment period just opened on the proposed “National Coverage Determination.”

“Surgical Treatment for Gender Identity Disorder, formerly referred to as transsexual surgery in 140.3, is currently noncovered under the Medicare Part A and Part B programs. The existing policy, which became effective in 1981, states that transsexual surgery is considered experimental,” said the notice just posted on the CMS.gov site.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/in-shift-medicare-would-pay-for-sex-change-operations.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Washington Examiner: http://washingtonexaminer.com/in-shift-medicare-would-pay-for-sex-change-operations/article/2525782

[2] Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services: http://www.cms.gov/medicare-coverage-database/details/nca-tracking-sheet.aspx?NCAId=269

[3] No Escape from the Medicare Cage: http://www.prisonplanet.com/no-escape-from-the-medicare-cage.html

[4] Ron Paul: I Will Preserve Medicare: http://www.prisonplanet.com/ron-paul-i-will-preserve-medicare.html

[5] Cancer clinics are turning away thousands of Medicare patients: http://www.prisonplanet.com/cancer-clinics-are-turning-away-thousands-of-medicare-patients.html

[6] Medicare Gives CPR to ‘Death Panels’: http://www.prisonplanet.com/medicare-gives-cpr-to-%e2%80%98death-panels%e2%80%99.html

[7] Feds Give Welfare to the Dead, Deny Medicare to the Living: http://www.prisonplanet.com/feds-give-welfare-to-the-dead-deny-medicare-to-the-living-2.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.