- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Iwo Jima Memorial Closed, Barricades Erected (Update: Vets Break Through)

Posted By admin On October 6, 2013 @ 4:24 am In Featured Stories | Comments Disabled

Weekly Standard [1]
October 5, 2013

Another open-air memorial in the Washington area is closed and barricaded off: the Iwo Jima Memorial, just across the bridge from D.C. in Rosslyn, Virginia. A source sends along this picture of the barricade set-up at the memorial, which is also called the U.S. Marine Corps War Memorial:

Iwo Jima Memorial Closed, Barricades Erected (Update: Vets Break Through) photo.preview

“I took the picture yesterday afternoon. Those barricades had been there at least a day. People can still walk into the Memorial area, but for many elderly and disabled vets, it is important they be driven and park right next to the statue,” the person who took this picture emails.

“There has been no coverage of Iwo Jima being closed and it is a routine stop for Honor Flight visitors.”

The source adds: ”This picture is from North Marshall Drive (100 yards up the hill from the 110) facing the only road in and out of the Memorial for cars. There are parking spots for cars and buses right next the Memorial that can only be accessed via this road. Interestingly too, the view you see is also the last 200 yards of the Marine Corps Marathon which is in three weeks. That would be 20,000 pissed off runners who have trained for months.”

The stop is a popular destination for veterans and tourists alike, and, in my observation, is usually completely unmanned and unguarded. But, for some reason, it’s closed to the public during this federal government shutdown.

UPDATE: I’m told, “The Syracuse Honor Flight just knocked down the barrier and a couple hundred of them are at the Memorial now.”

Here’s a picture:

Iwo Jima Memorial Closed, Barricades Erected (Update: Vets Break Through) image 1.preview


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/iwo-jima-memorial-closed-barricades-erected-update-vets-break-through.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Weekly Standard: http://www.weeklystandard.com/blogs/iwo-jima-memorial-closed-barricades-erected_759277.html

[2] World War 2 Vets to Storm Barricades Surrounding Iwo Jima Monument: http://www.prisonplanet.com/world-war-2-vets-to-storm-barricades-surrounding-iwo-jima-monument.html

[3] WWII Vets Return to Their Memorial: http://www.prisonplanet.com/wwii-vets-return-to-their-memorial.html

[4] Battle of the Barricades: Vets Prepared to “Go to Jail”: http://www.prisonplanet.com/battle-of-the-barricades-vets-prepared-to-go-to-jail.html

[5] Spirit of Iwo Jima as Vets Storm Barricades: http://www.prisonplanet.com/spirit-of-iwo-jima-as-vets-storm-barricades.html

[6] Obama Protects WW2 Memorial From Vets More Than He Protected Americans from Benghazi Attack: http://www.prisonplanet.com/obama-protects-ww2-memorial-from-vets-more-than-he-protected-americans-from-benghazi-attack.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.