- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

July 2012 Ratings: CNN Continues to Struggle

Posted By admin On August 1, 2012 @ 3:04 am In U.S. News | Comments Disabled

Merrill Knox
Mediabistro [1]
August 1, 2012

CNN was down double digits across the board in July.Compared to July 2011 [2], the network is -20% in Total Viewers and -23% in A25-54 in Total Day. In primetime, CNN is down -23% in Total Viewers and -26% in the demographic.

The ratings for July 2012:

  • Primetime (Mon-Sun): 488,000 Total Viewers / 149,000 A25-54
  • Total Day (Mon-Sun): 355,000 Total Viewers / 109,000 A25-54

Compared to the July 2011, Erin Burnett [3]‘s 7pm hour — home last year to “John King [4]USA” — is down -21% in both Total Viewers and younger viewers. “Piers Morgan [5] Tonight” is down -18% in Total Viewers and -24% in A25-54 viewers. The 10pm edition of “Anderson Cooper [6] 360″ is down -34% in Total Viewers and -36% in A25-54 viewers.

There is some good news for CNN in the 8pm hour of “AC360,” which is up +6% in the demographic and is the only cable news program in primetime to increase among younger viewers year-over-year.

Compared to last month [7], all of CNN’s daytime and primetime programs are up by double digits in both Total Viewers and A25-54 viewers. Burnett is up +12% in Total Viewers and +15% in the demographic, Cooper is up +27% in Total Viewers and +31% in the demographic, and Morgan is up +18% and +20%, respectively.


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/july-2012-ratings-cnn-continues-to-struggle.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Mediabistro: http://www.mediabistro.com/tvnewser/july-2012-ratings-cnn-continues-to-struggle_b139787

[2] Compared to July 2011: http://www.mediabistro.com/tvnewser/july-2011-ratings-ac360-piers-morgan-up-for-cnn-american-morning-down_b78918

[3] Erin Burnett: http://www.mediabistro.com/Erin-Burnett-profile.html

[4] John King: http://www.mediabistro.com/John-King-profile.html

[5] Piers Morgan: http://www.mediabistro.com/Piers-Morgan-profile.html

[6] Anderson Cooper: http://www.mediabistro.com/Anderson-Cooper-profile.html

[7] last month: http://www.mediabistro.com/tvnewser/q2-2012-ratings-cnn-has-lowest-rated-primetime-quarter-since-1991_b134887

[8] CNN Sinks To 21-Year Primetime Ratings Low In Second Quarter: http://www.prisonplanet.com/cnn-sinks-to-21-year-primetime-ratings-low-in-second-quarter.html

[9] MSNBC Just Had Its Most Dreadful Ratings Period In 6 Years: http://www.prisonplanet.com/msnbc-just-had-its-most-dreadful-ratings-period-in-6-years.html

[10] CNN Hits 20-Year Weekday Primetime Low: http://www.prisonplanet.com/cnn-hits-20-year-weekday-primetime-low.html

[11] Maddow’s Ratings Hit New Lows Following Attacks On Alex Jones: http://www.prisonplanet.com/maddows-ratings-hit-new-lows-following-attacks-on-alex-jones.html

[12] Post-Zimmerman: CNN Viewership Drops 32%: http://www.prisonplanet.com/post-zimmerman-cnn-viewership-drops-32.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.