- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Just 21% Want FCC to Regulate Internet, Most Fear Regulation Would Promote Political Agenda

Posted By admin On December 28, 2010 @ 11:22 am In Prison Planet | Comments Disabled

Rasmussen Reports [1]
Tuesday, December 28, 2010

American voters believe free market competition will protect Internet users more than government regulation and fear that regulation will be used to push a political agenda.

The latest Rasmussen Reports national telephone survey finds that only 21% of Likely U.S. Voters want the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) to regulate the Internet as it does radio and television. Fifty-four percent (54%) are opposed to such regulation, and 25% are not sure. (To see survey question wording, click here [2].)

(ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW)

Just 21% Want FCC to Regulate Internet, Most Fear Regulation Would Promote Political Agenda 011210banner3 [3]

Stock up for the Holidays with eFoodsDirect and get FREE Shipping! [4]

The survey was conducted shortly after the FCC decided on a party line vote to impose so-called “net neutrality” regulations on the Internet world. Republicans and unaffiliated voters overwhelmingly oppose FCC regulation of the Internet, while Democrats are more evenly divided. Those who use the Internet most are most opposed to FCC regulations.

By a 52% to 27% margin, voters believe that more free market competition is better than more regulation for protecting Internet users. Republicans and unaffiliated voters overwhelmingly share this view, but a plurality of Democrats (46%) think more regulation is the better approach.

Full story here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/just-21-want-fcc-to-regulate-internet-most-fear-regulation-would-promote-political-agenda.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Rasmussen Reports: http://www.rasmussenreports.com/public_content/politics/general_politics/december_2010/just_21_want_fcc_to_regulate_internet_most_fear_regulation_would_promote_political_agenda

[2] click here: http://www.rasmussenreports.com/public_content/politics/questions/pt_survey_questions/december_2010/questions_net_neutrality_december_23_2010

[3] Image: http://www.homegain.com/housead/homes_for_sale/index?entryid=11502

[4] Stock up for the Holidays with eFoodsDirect and get FREE Shipping!: http://www.efoodsdirect.com/2010-holiday-special/?aid=14&adid=48

[5] 57% Fear Government Will Use NSA Data to Harass Political Opponents: http://www.prisonplanet.com/57-fear-government-will-use-nsa-data-to-harass-political-opponents.html

[6] Google CEO: We Need Gov’t Regulation of Internet Service Providers: http://www.prisonplanet.com/google-ceo-we-need-govt-regulation-of-internet-service-providers.html

[7] Net Neutrality Regulation vs. Internet Freedom: http://www.prisonplanet.com/net-neutrality-regulation-vs-internet-freedom.html

[8] Internet Regulation Still a Threat in the 112th Congress: http://www.prisonplanet.com/internet-regulation-still-a-threat-in-the-112th-congress.html

[9] Americans Oppose Government Efforts To Take Over Internet: http://www.prisonplanet.com/americans-oppose-government-efforts-to-take-over-internet.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.