- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Libya vows to fight any foreign troops on its soil, rebuffs E.U. proposal

Posted By admin On April 19, 2011 @ 9:09 am In Featured Stories,World News | Comments Disabled

Simon Denyer
Washington Post [1]
April 19, 2011

TRIPOLI, Libya — The Libyan government on Tuesday firmly rebuffed a proposal from the European Union, saying it would fight any foreign troops that landed on its soil, even if they were supposedly there to escort humanitarian aid convoys.

The European Union has outlined a provisional plan that could include sending European troops to the besieged Libyan city of Misurata to protect aid deliveries if requested by the United Nations, although U.N. officials say they want to explore civilian options first.

Separately, British Foreign Secretary William Hague said his country was sending a team of military advisers to Libya to help organize the ragtag opposition forces, joining British diplomats already working with rebel leaders in Benghazi, their stronghold in eastern Libya.

Hague said the military team would help the rebels improve military organizational structures, communications and logistics but would not be involved in supplying weapons or assisting with rebel attacks on Moammar Gaddafi’s forces, the Associated Press reported.

Full article here [1]

Stock up with Fresh Food that lasts with eFoodsDirect (AD) [2]

Libya vows to fight any foreign troops on its soil, rebuffs E.U. proposal 161008pptv3 [3]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/libya-vows-to-fight-any-foreign-troops-on-its-soil-rebuffs-e-u-proposal.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Washington Post: http://www.washingtonpost.com/world/libya-vows-to-fight-any-foreign-troops-on-its-soil-rebuffs-eu-proposal/2011/04/19/AF7GP34D_story.html?hpid=z2

[2] Stock up with Fresh Food that lasts with eFoodsDirect (AD): http://www.efoodsdirect.com/

[3] Image: http://prisonplanet.tv/

[4] Brits join ground fight in Libya: http://www.prisonplanet.com/brits-join-ground-fight-in-libya.html

[5] Qaddafi Troops Near Benghazi May Face Air Attack Soon: http://www.prisonplanet.com/qaddafi-troops-near-benghazi-may-face-air-attack-soon.html

[6] UK Sends In Troops As Ground Invasion Of Libya Accelerates: http://www.prisonplanet.com/uk-sends-in-troops-as-ground-invasion-of-libya-accelerates.html

[7] UN Meets to Debate Libya Sanctions as Qaddafi Vows to Fight: http://www.prisonplanet.com/un-meets-to-debate-libya-sanctions-as-qaddafi-vows-to-fight.html

[8] Foreign Troops Already Involved In Syrian War: http://www.prisonplanet.com/foreign-troops-already-involved-in-syrian-war.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.