- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Like President Obama, Rahm Emanuel pivots on gun control

Posted By admin On January 13, 2013 @ 8:11 am In Featured Stories | Comments Disabled

Daniel Strauss
The Hill [1]
January 13, 2013

Rahm Emanuel, who put the brakes on gun control in the Obama White House, is now pushing for broad changes to firearm policies in Chicago.

Like President Obama, the Chicago mayor has long embraced gun-control policies, but at times has worked behind the scenes to thwart the movement.

As Obama moves to pass new legislation to reduce gun violence after a shooting massacre at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Conn., Emanuel wants to strengthen Chicago’s gun laws to address an alarming increase in homicides.

In late December, Chicago attracted national attention when law-enforcement officials confirmed the city’s 500th homicide in 2012.

Emanuel has previously pushed new gun restriction laws and resisted them as well. When Emanuel served in the Clinton White House, he helped pass the assault weapons ban.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/like-president-obama-rahm-emanuel-pivots-on-gun-control.html

URLs in this post:

[1] The Hill: http://thehill.com/homenews/news/276837-like-obama-rahm-emanuel-pivots-on-gun-control

[2] Obama Offers Rahm Emanuel Job of White House Chief of Staff: http://www.prisonplanet.com/obama-offers-rahm-emanuel-job-of-white-house-chief-of-staff.html

[3] Blagojevich scandal: Rahm Emanuel and Jesse Jackson Jr face new revelations: http://www.prisonplanet.com/blagojevich-scandal-rahm-emanuel-and-jesse-jackson-jr-face-new-revelations.html

[4] Son Of Israeli Terrorist Rahm Emanuel Elected Mayor Of Chicago: http://www.prisonplanet.com/son-of-israeli-terrorist-rahm-emanuel-elected-mayor-of-chicago.html

[5] Rahm Emanuel Revokes First Amendment Rights Ahead of NATO Summit: http://www.prisonplanet.com/rahm-emanuel-revokes-first-amendment-rights-ahead-of-nato-summit.html

[6] This is a hold up: Rahm Emanuel takes gun battle to banks: http://www.prisonplanet.com/this-is-a-hold-up-rahm-emanuel-takes-gun-battle-to-banks.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.