- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

List of Labor Camps Released to International Journalists in China

Posted By admin On August 21, 2008 @ 2:57 am In Featured Stories | Comments Disabled

Ben Bendig
Epoch Times [1]
Thursday, Aug 21, 2008

The Coalition to Investigate the Persecution of Falun Gong (CIPFG) released today a list of 51 labor camps for journalists to investigate while they are in China for the Olympic Games.

CIPFG reports that there are nearly 300 labor camps in China, where torture, “re-education” (brainwashing), and forced labor take place. Tens of thousands of Falun Gong practitioners are said to be held there, and among them are those arrested in large purges that took place in the months before the Olympics.

The regime in China has been known to deny independent investigations of claims of torture and abuse in its labor camps, which people can be sentenced to without trial.

article continues below


In the lead-up to the games, CIPFG released to journalists a guide to seven labor camps near the Olympics venues, titled “Torture Outside the Olympic Village: A Guide to China’s Labor Camps.” These camps held practitioners of Falun Gong, a spiritual practice that is heavily persecuted in China.

Sources reported that the Chinese regime relocated many of the Falun Gong practitioners in the camps to ones in other provinces, and put on show tours for foreign media.

Falun Gong has been persecuted since 1999 when the practice was outlawed after it grew to an estimated 80–100 million practitioners. Reports from human rights organizations document brutal persecution against practitioners, including rape, torture, and the harvesting of organs. The Chinese regime has not explained a surge of transplants done since 2001, including 40,000 transplants with donors unaccounted for.


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/list-of-labor-camps-released-to-international-journalists-in-china.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Epoch Times: http://en.epochtimes.com/n2/china/list-labor-camps-international-journalists-china-3119.html

[2] Beijing Plans Labor Camp ‘Show Tours’ for Press, Group Warns: http://www.prisonplanet.com/beijing-plans-labor-camp-%e2%80%98show-tours%e2%80%99-for-press-group-warns.html

[3] Torture Camps Minutes From Olympic Sites: http://www.prisonplanet.com/torture-camps-minutes-from-olympic-sites.html

[4] Beijing Labor Camp Tour Will be Fake Warns Victim: http://www.prisonplanet.com/beijing-labor-camp-tour-will-be-fake-warns-victim.html

[5] Words Censored by China’s Largest Search Engine: http://www.prisonplanet.com/words-censored-by-china%e2%80%99s-largest-search-engine.html

[6] Beijing’s Upside Down Flag a Product of China’s Labor Camp: http://www.prisonplanet.com/beijing%e2%80%99s-upside-down-flag-a-product-of-china%e2%80%99s-labor-camp.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.