- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Maryland Gov. Martin O’Malley presses lawmakers for handgun licenses for residents

Posted By yihan On February 6, 2013 @ 1:39 pm In U.S. News | Comments Disabled

David Hill
The Washington Times [1]
February 6, 2013

Maryland Gov. Martin O’Malley [2] will urge state lawmakers on Wednesday to pass legislation requiring residents to obtain a license before purchasing a handgun, but Second Amendment advocates hope to drown out his message.

Mr. O’Malley [2], a Democrat, will testify before the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee [3] in favor of his bill, which would also ban assault weapons, limit magazine capacities to 10 rounds and require prospective gun buyers to complete a safety course and pay a $100 application fee.

However, gun-rights advocates will descend upon Annapolis to rally against a bill that they say tramples on gun owners’ rights and won’t stop criminals who carry illegal guns.

“The overriding problem with the governor’s bill is that it does little to address the bad guys with the guns,” said Delegate Michael D. Smigiel Sr. [4], Cecil Republican, who said rally organizers are expecting 1,000 to 3,000 people. “It deals with ways of curtailing law-abiding citizens from being able to exercise their full Second Amendment rights.”

Full story here. [1]

 


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/maryland-gov-martin-o%e2%80%99malley-presses-lawmakers-for-handgun-licenses-for-residents.html

URLs in this post:

[1] The Washington Times: http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2013/feb/5/gun-advocates-target-annapolis/?utm_source=RSS_Feed&utm_medium=RSS

[2] Gov. Martin O’Malley: http://www.washingtontimes.com/topics/martin-omalley/

[3] Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee: http://www.washingtontimes.com/topics/senate-judicial-proceedings-committee/

[4] Michael D. Smigiel Sr.: http://www.washingtontimes.com/topics/michael-d-smigiel-sr/

[5] Maryland Gov. O’Malley to push for tougher gun-control rules: http://www.prisonplanet.com/maryland-gov-o%e2%80%99malley-to-push-for-tougher-gun-control-rules.html

[6] Maryland Senate Passes Governor O’Malley’s Gun Control Bill: http://www.prisonplanet.com/maryland-senate-passes-governor-o%e2%80%99malley%e2%80%99s-gun-control-bill.html

[7] High Court to Examine Local Handgun Laws: http://www.prisonplanet.com/high-court-to-examine-local-handgun-laws.html

[8] New Jersey Assembly aims to ban all handgun, some rifle ammo: http://www.prisonplanet.com/new-jersey-assembly-aims-to-ban-all-handgun-some-rifle-ammo.html

[9] Wyoming Lawmakers Propose ‘Gun Protection’ Legislation: http://www.prisonplanet.com/wyoming-lawmakers-propose-%e2%80%98gun-protection%e2%80%99-legislation-2.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.