- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Microsoft exec pitches Internet usage tax to pay for cybersecurity programs

Posted By admin On March 4, 2010 @ 11:26 am In Featured Stories | Comments Disabled

Tony Romm
The Hill [1]
March 4, 2010

A top Microsoft executive on Tuesday suggested a broad Internet tax to help defray the costs associated with computer security breaches and vast Internet attacks, according to reports [2].

Speaking at a security conference in San Francisco, Microsoft Vice President for Trustworthy Computing Scott Charney pitched the Web usage fee as one way to subsidize efforts to combat emerging cyber threats — a costly venture, he said, but one that had vast community benefits.

“You could say it’s a public safety issue and do it with general taxation,” Charney noted.

Ultimately, Charney was only offering one suggestion during the RSA security conference; not a precise policy prescription.

Full article here [1]

Microsoft exec pitches Internet usage tax to pay for cybersecurity programs 040310banner3 [3]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/microsoft-exec-pitches-internet-usage-tax-to-pay-for-cybersecurity-programs.html

URLs in this post:

[1] The Hill: http://thehill.com/blogs/hillicon-valley/technology/84717-microsoft-exec-pitches-internet-usage-tax-to-pay-for-cybersecurity-programs

[2] reports: http://www.pcworld.com/businesscenter/article/190581/microsofts_charney_suggests_net_tax_to_clean_computers.html

[3] Image: http://purewaterfreedom.com/

[4] DARPA, Microsoft, Lockheed team up to reinvent Internet: http://www.prisonplanet.com/darpa-microsoft-lockheed-team-up-to-reinvent-internet.html

[5] Microsoft’s PC Quarantine Plan: http://www.prisonplanet.com/microsofts-pc-quarantine-plan.html

[6] Microsoft Proposal Opens Door For Government Licensing To Access Internet: http://www.prisonplanet.com/microsoft-proposal-opens-door-for-government-licensing-to-access-internet.html

[7] FCC Using Cybersecurity To Regulate Internet: http://www.prisonplanet.com/fcc-using-cybersecurity-to-regulate-internet.html

[8] FBI Exec Calls for Changes in Internet Technology: http://www.prisonplanet.com/fbi-exec-calls-for-changes-in-internet-technology.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.