- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Military Examines Role In Domestic Defense

Posted By admin On November 25, 2008 @ 9:10 am In Featured Stories | Comments Disabled

CBS News [1]
Tuesday, November 25, 2008

FLASHBACK: NorthCom Denies Troops To Be Used For Crowd Control [2]

FLASHBACK: U.S. Troops In Homeland “Crowd Control” Patrols From October 1st [3]

Defense Secretary Robert Gates on Monday ordered his top department leaders to conduct a broad review to determine whether the military, National Guard and Reserve can adequately deal with domestic disasters and whether they have the training and equipment to defend the homeland.

The 41-page memo signaled an acknowledgment that the military must better recognize the critical role of the National Guard and Reserves in homeland defense, but stopped short of requiring many specific policy changes.

 (ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW)

His memo comes in the wake of a stinging 400-page independent commission report that concluded the military isn’t ready for a catastrophic attack on the country, and that National Guard forces don’t have the equipment or training they need for the job.

That report, released early this year by the Commission on the National Guard and Reserves, said the Pentagon must use the nation’s citizen soldiers to create an operational force that would be fully trained, equipped and ready to defend the nation, respond to crises and supplement the active duty troops in combat.

Full story here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/military-examines-role-in-domestic-defense.html

URLs in this post:

[1] CBS News: http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2008/11/25/national/main4631564.shtml?tag=topHome%3btopStories

[2] FLASHBACK: NorthCom Denies Troops To Be Used For Crowd Control: http://www.prisonplanet.com/northcom-denies-troops-to-be-used-for-crowd-control.html

[3] FLASHBACK: U.S. Troops In Homeland “Crowd Control” Patrols From October 1st: http://www.prisonplanet.com/us-troops-in-homeland-crowd-control-patrols-from-october-1st.html

[4] Joint military/homeland security defense exercise underway: http://www.prisonplanet.com/joint-militaryhomeland-security-defense-exercise-underway.html

[5] Gates: Active force, reserves must integrate: http://www.prisonplanet.com/gates-active-force-reserves-must-integrate.html

[6] Canadian Military Units To Undertake “Domestic Security”: http://www.prisonplanet.com/canadian-military-units-to-undertake-domestic-security.html

[7] Obama’s Civil Defense Program Resembles Domestic Draft: http://www.prisonplanet.com/obamas-civil-defense-program-resembles-domestic-draft.html

[8] CFR Proposes Using Army To Enforce Domestic Law: http://www.prisonplanet.com/cfr-proposes-using-army-to-enforce-domestic-law.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.