- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

New Bailout May Top $1.5 Trillion

Posted By admin On February 10, 2009 @ 11:46 am In Money Watch | Comments Disabled

Note: The Washington Post seems to think that the federal Reserve is a government agency.

David Cho and Lori Montgomery
Washington Post [1]
Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009

The gravity of the financial crisis confronting the Obama administration will come into stark focus today when officials unveil a three-pronged rescue program that may commit up to $1.5 trillion in public and private funds, and possibly more, lawmakers and other officials said.

In announcing the plan, Treasury Secretary Timothy F. Geithner will not ask Congress for more funds than the roughly $350 billion that remain in the Treasury Department’s original rescue package for the financial system, though congressional sources said such a request could come later if the new programs are unsuccessful. The rest of the money would come from other government agencies, such as the Federal Reserve, as well as private-sector contributions.

A senior administration official warned last night that the ultimate cost to taxpayers has not been determined. Several of the programs have not been finalized, and most are designed to ultimately return money to taxpayers.

(Article continues below)

New Bailout May Top $1.5 Trillion 161008pptv1 [2]

Geithner plans to announce a public-private partnership that would seek to finance the purchasing of toxic bank assets that are at the heart of the credit crisis, officials and congressional sources said. These sources briefed by Treasury officials said the program may initially raise $250 billion to $500 billion in public and private funds to offer low-cost financing to encourage investors to buy the toxic assets. An administration official said the proposal is still subject to a public review and may not take final shape for several weeks.

A second initiative will broaden the scope of a Federal Reserve program aimed at unclogging the markets for auto, student and other consumer loans. That initiative may expand to as much as $1 trillion, using $100 billion from the Treasury’s rescue funds, and include aid for commercial real estate markets.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/new-bailout-may-top-15-trillion.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Washington Post : http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2009/02/09/AR2009020902212.html?hpid=topnews

[2] Image: http://www.prisonplanet.tv/subscribe.html

[3] Geithner Preparing Overhaul Of Bailout: http://www.prisonplanet.com/geithner-preparing-overhaul-of-bailout.html

[4] Financial Rescue Nears GDP as Pledges Top $12.8 Trillion: http://www.prisonplanet.com/financial-rescue-nears-gdp-as-pledges-top-128-trillion.html

[5] Treasury Presses Ahead With Plan For Toxic Assets: http://www.prisonplanet.com/treasury-presses-ahead-with-plan-for-toxic-assets.html

[6] Fed Hides Destination Of $2 Trillion In Bailout Money: http://www.prisonplanet.com/fed-hides-destination-of-2-trillion-in-bailout-money.html

[7] How’s that $8 trillion bailout going?: http://www.prisonplanet.com/hows-that-8-trillion-bailout-going.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.