- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

New DVR will use camera and microphone to target advertisements based on recordings of users

Posted By yihan On December 5, 2012 @ 11:53 am In Featured Stories,Tile | Comments Disabled

Eric Pfeiffer
Yahoo! News [1]
December 5, 2012

It won’t be long before our televisions are watching us.

You don’t have to be paranoid or even a privacy expert to find this development a little creepy. Verizon has filed a patent on a new DVR technology that works by filming and recording viewers in order to send them targeted ads through their TV’s.

“If detection facility detects one or more words spoken by a user (e.g., while talking to another user within the same room or on the telephone), advertising facility may utilize the one or more words spoken by the user to search for and/or select an advertisement associated with the one or more words,” Verizon states in its application,which was first reported by¬†Fierce Cable [2].

The patent was actually¬†filed by Verizon in 2011 [3] but the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office isn’t required to release patent filings for 18 months.

Full story here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/new-dvr-will-use-camera-and-microphone-to-target-advertisements-based-on-recordings-of-users.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Yahoo! News : http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/sideshow/dvr-camera-microphone-target-advertisements-based-recordings-users-014434311.html

[2] Fierce Cable: http://www.fiercecable.com/story/verizon-patents-targeted-advertising-method-determines-if-viewers-are-laugh/2012-11-30

[3] filed by Verizon in 2011: http://appft1.uspto.gov/netacgi/nph-Parser?Sect1=PTO2&Sect2=HITOFF&p=1&u=%2Fnetahtml%2FPTO%2Fsearch-bool.html&r=1&f=G&l=50&co1=AND&d=PG01&s1=20120304206&OS=20120304206&RS=20120304206

[4] Google Gets Patent for Using Background Noise to Target Ads: http://www.prisonplanet.com/google-gets-patent-for-using-background-noise-to-target-ads.html

[5] Verizon Follows Google In Turning Phones & TV’s Into Wiretaps: http://www.prisonplanet.com/verizon-follows-google-in-turning-phones-tvs-into-wiretaps.html

[6] Apple Patent Outlines a System To Track Users: http://www.prisonplanet.com/apple-patent-outlines-a-system-to-track-users.html

[7] Apple Patents Technology That Would Force Users to Interact with Ads: http://www.prisonplanet.com/apple-patents-technology-that-would-force-users-to-interact-with-ads.html

[8] Verizon Wireless wants to ‘edit’ your Internet access: http://www.prisonplanet.com/verizon-wireless-wants-to-edit-your-internet-access.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.