- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

No Rise of Atmospheric Carbon Dioxide Fraction in Past 160 Years, New Research Finds

Posted By admin On December 31, 2009 @ 10:03 am In Sci Tech | Comments Disabled

Science Daily [1]
Thursday, Dec 31st, 2009

Most of the carbon dioxide emitted by human activity does not remain in the atmosphere, but is instead absorbed by the oceans and terrestrial ecosystems. In fact, only about 45 percent of emitted carbon dioxide stays in the atmosphere.

However, some studies have suggested that the ability of oceans and plants to absorb carbon dioxide recently may have begun to decline and that the airborne fraction of anthropogenic carbon dioxide emissions is therefore beginning to increase.

Many climate models also assume that the airborne fraction will increase. Because understanding of the airborne fraction of carbon dioxide is important for predicting future climate change, it is essential to have accurate knowledge of whether that fraction is changing or will change as emissions increase.

Full article here [1]

No Rise of Atmospheric Carbon Dioxide Fraction in Past 160 Years, New Research Finds 301209banner2 [2]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/no-rise-of-atmospheric-carbon-dioxide-fraction-in-past-160-years-new-research-finds.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Science Daily: http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2009/12/091230184221.htm

[2] Image: http://www.prisonplanet.com/2009_christmas_special.htm

[3] Climate change study shows Earth is still absorbing carbon dioxide: http://www.prisonplanet.com/climate-change-study-shows-earth-is-still-absorbing-carbon-dioxide.html

[4] The Logarithmic Effect of Carbon Dioxide: http://www.prisonplanet.com/the-logarithmic-effect-of-carbon-dioxide.html

[5] Study: Too Little Carbon Dioxide Will Destroy Earth: http://www.prisonplanet.com/study-too-little-carbon-dioxide-will-destroy-earth.html

[6] Professor: Life-Giving Gas Carbon Dioxide Is Not A Pollutant: http://www.prisonplanet.com/professor-life-giving-gas-carbon-dioxide-is-not-a-pollutant.html

[7] Scientist: Carbon Dioxide Doesn’t Cause Global Warming: http://www.prisonplanet.com/scientist-carbon-dioxide-doesnt-cause-global-warming.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.