- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

NSA Lawyer Questioned Over Cellphone Location Tracking of Americans

Posted By admin On July 27, 2011 @ 7:31 am In 1 | Comments Disabled

Jennifer Valentino-DeVries
Wall Street Journal [1]
Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Is the government using cellular data to track Americans as they move around the U.S.?

According to the general counsel of the National Security Agency, it may have that authority. Matthew Olsen, who is currently at the NSA and has been nominated to lead the National Counterterrorism Center, discussed the possibility at a confirmation hearing Tuesday morning in the Senate Select Committee on Intelligence.

“There are certain circumstances where that authority may exist,” he said. His comments came after Sen. Ron Wyden (D., Ore.) asked him several times whether the government has the authority to “use cell site data to track the location of Americans inside the country.”

Although Olsen acknowledged the possibility, he also said “it is a very complicated question” and that the intelligence community is working on a memo that will provide a better answer for the committee.

Full story here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/nsa-lawyer-questioned-over-cellphone-location-tracking-of-americans.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Wall Street Journal: http://blogs.wsj.com/digits/2011/07/26/nsa-lawyer-questioned-over-cellphone-location-tracking-of-americans/?mod=google_news_blog

[2] Bank To Spy On Customers Via Cellphone Location Tracking: http://www.prisonplanet.com/bank-to-spy-on-customers-via-cellphone-location-tracking.html

[3] Warrantless Cellphone Tracking Is Upheld: http://www.prisonplanet.com/warrantless-cellphone-tracking-is-upheld.html

[4] Your Cellphone Has Been Tracking You For Nearly a Decade: http://www.prisonplanet.com/your-cellphone-has-been-tracking-you-for-nearly-a-decade.html

[5] Groups Sue U.S. for Data On Tracking By Cellphone: http://www.prisonplanet.com/groups-sue-us-for-data-on-tracking-by-cellphone.html

[6] Evidence: FBI Tracking And Monitoring Americans Via Smart Phones: http://www.prisonplanet.com/evidence-fbi-tracking-and-monitoring-americans-via-smart-phones.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.