- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Obama on Occupy Wall Street: ‘We Are on Their Side’

Posted By admin On October 18, 2011 @ 2:27 pm In Featured Stories | Comments Disabled

Daniel Halper
The Weekly Standard [1]
Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Comment: As we predicted right from the start, Obama and the Democratic machine have attempted to co-opt the protests as an election campaign gimmick. Obama is trying to pose as a populist in appearing to side with American citizens against Wall Street, when his 2008 campaign was funded by Wall Street [2], his cabinet is stuffed with former Wall Street insiders [3], and his 2012 campaign is even more reliant on Wall Street [4].

———————————

In an interview that will be aired tonight on ABC News [5], President Obama continues to express his commitment to the Occupy Wall Street protesters.

“The most important thing we can do right now is those of us in leadership letting people know that we understand their struggles and we are on their side, and that we want to set up a system in which hard work, responsibility, doing what you’re supposed to do, is rewarded,” Obama tells ABC News [5]. “And that people who are irresponsible, who are reckless, who don’t feel a sense of obligation to their communities and their companies and their workers that those folks aren’t rewarded.”

The president also compares the protesters to the Tea Party. “In some ways, they’re not that different from some of the protests that we saw coming from the Tea Party,” Obama says. “Both on the left and the right, I think people feel separated from their government. They feel that their institutions aren’t looking out for them.”

Full story here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/obama-on-occupy-wall-street-we-are-on-their-side.html

URLs in this post:

[1] The Weekly Standard: http://www.weeklystandard.com/blogs/obama-occupy-wall-street-we-are-their-side_598251.html

[2] 2008 campaign was funded by Wall Street: http://www.opensecrets.org/pres08/contrib.php?cid=N00009638

[3] stuffed with former Wall Street insiders: http://www.globalresearch.ca/index.php?context=va&aid=13208

[4] even more reliant on Wall Street: http://www.moneynews.com/StreetTalk/obama-wallstreet-electioncampaign/2011/07/22/id/404563

[5] aired tonight on ABC News: http://abcnews.go.com/blogs/politics/2011/10/obama-occupy-wall-street-not-that-different-from-tea-party-protests/

[6] Giuliani: “Obama Owns Occupy Wall Street”: http://www.prisonplanet.com/giuliani-obama-owns-occupy-wall-street.html

[7] Occupy Wall Street Has Some Bad News For The Rich Residents Of The Upper East Side: http://www.prisonplanet.com/occupy-wall-street-has-some-bad-news-for-the-rich-residents-of-the-upper-east-side.html

[8] It’s Official: Obama Has Embraced Occupy Wall Street: http://www.prisonplanet.com/its-official-obama-has-embraced-occupy-wall-street.html

[9] Obama: Occupy Wall Street ‘Not That Different’ From Tea Party: http://www.prisonplanet.com/obama-occupywallstreet-%e2%80%98not-that-different%e2%80%99-from-tea-party.html

[10] ‘Occupy Wall Street’ Tax Proposal Is Backed By Wall Street Itself: http://www.prisonplanet.com/occupy-wall-street-tax-proposal-is-backed-by-wall-street-itself.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.