- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Paul blasts Gingrich for skipping military

Posted By admin On January 8, 2012 @ 6:23 am In Featured Stories,Tile | Comments Disabled

Peter Schroeder
The Hill [1]
January 8, 2012

Rep. Ron Paul (Texas) jabbed at Newt Gingrich during Saturday night’s Republican presidential debate for not serving in the military while advocating for foreign intervention as a candidate.

Paul had previously called Gingrich a “chickenhawk” for avoiding military service in his younger years, and did not back off from that line of attack during an ABC News/Yahoo! debate in New Hampshire.

“I’m trying to stop  these wars, but at least I went when called,” he told Gingrich.

The former House Speaker fired back in a seething response, accusing Paul of having “a long history of saying things that are inaccurate and false…I personally resent the kind of comments and aspersions he typically makes.”

He went on to say that his father was a long-time member of the military with multiple tours of duty, adding, “I have a pretty good idea of what it’s like in a family to worry.”

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/paul-blasts-gingrich-for-skipping-military.html

URLs in this post:

[1] The Hill: http://thehill.com/blogs/blog-briefing-room/news/202907-paul-blasts-gingrich-for-skipping-military

[2] Ron Paul outraises Newt Gingrich by more than $3 million: http://www.prisonplanet.com/ron-paul-outraises-newt-gingrich-by-more-than-3-million.html

[3] Ron Paul Blasts Back At “Chicken Hawk” Gingrich: http://www.prisonplanet.com/ron-paul-blasts-back-at-chicken-hawk-gingrich.html

[4] Newt Gingrich tells Georgia Republicans he’ll be a candidate in ‘12: http://www.prisonplanet.com/newt-gingrich-tells-georgia-republicans-he%e2%80%99ll-be-a-candidate-in-%e2%80%9812.html

[5] Poll: Ron Paul best Newt Gingrich by six points in Michigan: http://www.prisonplanet.com/pollron-paul-best-newt-gingrich-by-six-points-in-michigan.html

[6] Substance Over Style: Why Paul Can Win and Gingrich Can’t: http://www.prisonplanet.com/substance-over-style-why-paul-can-win-and-gingrich-can%e2%80%99t.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.