- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

PETMAN: A Giant Step Taken Toward Building DARPA’s Robot Army

Posted By admin On April 17, 2012 @ 7:06 am In Sci Tech,Tile | Comments Disabled

Activist Post [1]
April 17, 2012

As part of DARPA’s Robotics Challenge [2], which seeks more lifelike humanoid [3] robots, the engineers at Boston Dynamics have impressed once again.  Boston Dynamics first caught the public’s attention by showcasing just how fast robotics was advancing when they released videos of robots so lifelike [4] that they were given names like LittleDog, SandFlea, BigDog, and the world’s fastest legged robot — Cheetah.

Now Boston Dynamics has entered the human realm with PETMAN.  As you will see in the video below, this robot far outdoes its predecessors with its extraordinary range of motion and abilities.

PETMAN is an anthropomorphic robot designed for testing chemical protection clothing. Its range of motion allows it to balance, walk, crawl, and even climb stairs, while also having the ability to simulate human physiology such as sweating. (Source [5])

It is the first robot to display such human movements, heralding the next … step in robotics development destined to assist waging war on battlefield earth [6].


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/petman-a-giant-step-taken-toward-building-darpas-robot-army.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Activist Post : http://www.activistpost.com/2012/04/petman-giant-step-taken-toward-building.html

[2] DARPA’s Robotics Challenge: http://www.darpa.mil/NewsEvents/Releases/2012/04/10.aspx

[3] humanoid: http://www.activistpost.com/2012/04/darpa-seeks-more-lifelike-humanoid.html

[4] videos of robots so lifelike: http://www.bostondynamics.com/robot_index.html

[5] Source: http://www.bostondynamics.com/robot_petman.html

[6] waging war on battlefield earth: http://www.activistpost.com/2011/12/entire-united-states-is-now-war-zone.html

[7] DARPA Unveils Atlas Humanoid Robot: http://www.prisonplanet.com/darpa-unveils-atlas-humanoid-robot.html

[8] New DARPA Robot Looks Human: http://www.prisonplanet.com/new-darpa-robot-looks-human.html

[9] ‘Mind Meld’ Study Leading to DARPA’s Killer Robot Army: http://www.prisonplanet.com/mind-meld-study-leading-to-darpas-killer-robot-army.html

[10] Cheetah: Boston Dynamics Running Robot: http://www.prisonplanet.com/cheetah-boston-dynamics-running-robot.html

[11] Foxconn to speed up ‘robot army’ deployment; 20,000 robots already in its factories: http://www.prisonplanet.com/foxconn-to-speed-up-robot-army-deployment-20000-robots-already-in-its-factories.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.