- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Philadelphia becomes first U.S. city to ban 3D printed guns

Posted By admin On November 25, 2013 @ 11:37 am In Featured Stories | Comments Disabled

MATT BLAKE
UK Daily Mail [1]
November 25, 2013

Philadelphia has become the first city in America to ban 3D-printed guns amid fears such bootlegged firearms could fuel a surge in violent crime.

Lawmakers of America’s fifth biggest city passed a bill on Thursday, six months after the blueprint for the 3D gun known as the Liberator was made available online by the group Defense Distributed.

In May, the State Department demanded the design be taken offline on the basis that they could violate possible arms trafficking violations, but not before it was downloaded more than 100,000 times.

‘It’s all pre-emptive,’ spokesman Steve Cobb, director of legislation for bill-authoKenyatta Johnson, told Philly Magazine [2]. ‘It’s just based upon internet stuff out there.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/philadelphia-becomes-first-u-s-city-to-ban-3d-printed-guns.html

URLs in this post:

[1] UK Daily Mail: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2513163/Philadelphia-U-S-city-ban-3D-printed-guns--But-blueprints-weapon-downloaded-100-000-times.html

[2] Philly Magazine: http://www.phillymag.com/news/2013/11/21/philly-becomes-first-city-ban-3-d-gun-printing/

[3] NYC Introduces Bill To Outlaw 3D Printed Guns: http://www.prisonplanet.com/nyc-introduces-bill-to-outlaw-3d-printed-guns.html

[4] DHS Memo Warns 3D Printed Guns May Be ‘Impossible’ to Stop: http://www.prisonplanet.com/dhs-memo-warns-3d-printed-guns-may-be-impossible-to-stop.html

[5] California, New York and DC look to ban 3D-printed guns: http://www.prisonplanet.com/california-new-york-and-dc-look-to-ban-3d-printed-guns.html

[6] 3D Printed Guns Render Gun Control Moot: http://www.prisonplanet.com/3d-printed-guns-render-gun-control-moot.html

[7] Ban on Displaying Guns at City Museums Should be Lifted, Ald. Burke Says: http://www.prisonplanet.com/ban-on-displaying-guns-at-city-museums-should-be-lifted-ald-burke-says.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.