- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Prosecutor rules out grand jury in Trayvon Martin case

Posted By yihan On April 9, 2012 @ 11:35 am In U.S. News | Comments Disabled

Reuters [1]
Monday, April 9, 2012

The special prosecutor investigating the shooting death of unarmed Florida teenager Trayvon Martin has ruled out using a grand jury in the case, meaning her office alone will decide whether to charge shooter George Zimmerman with a crime.

The case has captured national attention, largely because of race. Martin, 17, was black and Zimmerman, 28, who has not been charged, is white and Hispanic.

Police in the town of Sanford declined to arrest Zimmerman after the shooting, saying they found no evidence to contradict his account that he acted in self-defense.

The state attorney previously investigating the shooting, Norm Wolfinger, had said the case would go to a grand jury on April 10. That grand jury would have decided whether to charge Zimmerman but Wolfinger removed himself from the case on March 22 and was replaced by Angela Corey.

Full story here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/prosecutor-rules-out-grand-jury-in-trayvon-martin-case.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Reuters: http://www.reuters.com/article/2012/04/09/us-usa-florida-shooting-idUSBRE8380JS20120409

[2] Trayvon Martin case police chief sacked: http://www.prisonplanet.com/trayvon-martin-case-police-chief-sacked.html

[3] Sharpton Calls for Civil Disobedience in Trayvon Martin Case: http://www.prisonplanet.com/sharpton-calls-for-civil-disobedience-in-trayvon-martin-case.html

[4] New Black Panthers and Nazis Hijack Trayvon Martin Case: http://www.prisonplanet.com/new-black-panthers-and-nazis-hijack-trayvon-martin-case.html

[5] Trayvon Martin’s Dad Is A ‘Grand Master’ Freemason: http://www.prisonplanet.com/trayvon-martins-dad-is-a-grand-master-freemason.html

[6] George Zimmerman released on bond in Trayvon Martin killing: http://www.prisonplanet.com/george-zimmerman-released-on-bond-in-trayvon-martin-killing.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.