- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Psychologists Say Not Joining Facebook is ‘Suspicious’

Posted By admin On August 7, 2012 @ 3:03 am In Sci Tech,Tile | Comments Disabled

UK Daily Mail [1]
Aug 7, 2012

Facebook has become such a pervasive force in modern society that increasing numbers of employers, and even some psychologists, believe people who aren’t on social networking sites are ‘suspicious.’

The German magazine Der Taggspiegel [2] went so far as to point out that accused theater shooter James Holmes and Norwegian mass murder Anders Behring Breivik have common ground in their lack of Facebook profiles.

On a more tangible level, Forbes.com [3] reports that human resources departments across the country are becoming more wary of young job candidates who don’t use the site.

Normal: Facebook has become so pervasive in this culture that not having a profile is considered ‘abnormal’

The common concern among bosses is that a lack of Facebook could mean the applicant’s account could be so full of red flags that it had to be deleted.

Slate.com [4] tech reporter Farhad Manjoo wrote in an advice column that young people shouldn’t date anyone who isn’t on Facebook.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/psychologists-say-not-joining-facebook-is-suspicious.html

URLs in this post:

[1] UK Daily Mail: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2184658/Is-joining-Facebook-sign-youre-psychopath-Some-employers-psychologists-say-suspicious.html

[2] Der Taggspiegel: http://www.tagesspiegel.de/weltspiegel/nach-dem-attentat-von-denver-kein-facebook-profil-kein-job-angebot/6911648-2.html

[3] Forbes.com: http://www.forbes.com/sites/kashmirhill/2012/08/06/beware-tech-abandoners-people-without-facebook-accounts-are-suspicious/

[4] Slate.com: http://www.slate.com/articles/podcasts/manners_for_the_digital_age/2012/03/transcript_facebook_stalker_should_i_tell_a_cheating_guy_s_girlfriend_that_we_hooked_up_.single.html

[5] Facebook Spies On Chats For Suspicious Behavior: http://www.prisonplanet.com/facebook-spies-on-chats-for-suspicious-behavior.html

[6] Facebook Blocks Infowars Post on Suspicious Men Wearing Backpacks: http://www.prisonplanet.com/facebook-blocks-infowars-post-on-suspicious-men-wearing-backpacks.html

[7] Youth reject Facebook’s death of privacy claims: http://www.prisonplanet.com/youth-reject-facebooks-death-of-privacy-claims.html

[8] Pro-Lifers Protest Facebook Censorship of Disturbing Abortion Image: http://www.prisonplanet.com/pro-lifers-protest-facebook-censorship-of-disturbing-abortion-image.html

[9] Germany: Facebook Data Collection Under Fire Again: http://www.prisonplanet.com/germany-facebook-data-collection-under-fire-again.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.