- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Queen’s stockbroker raided by police and city watchdogs in biggest ever crackdown on insider trading

Posted By admin On July 30, 2008 @ 4:25 am In Money Watch | Comments Disabled

Justin Harper
UK Daily Mail [1]
Wednesday, July 30, 2008

The Queen’s stockbroker Cazenove has been caught up in Britain’s biggest ever crackdown on insider trading.

Eight people were arrested in dawn raids yesterday by the City watchdog the Financial Services Authority.

Cazenove admitted that one of the arrested worked at its London offices as a sub-contractor.

A 40-strong team from the FSA swooped on addresses in London and the South East with back-up from City of London police.

(Article continues below)

They are believed to have seized computers and paperwork.

The FSA says insider dealing – in which privileged information is used to make profits from share prices – is rife among financial institutions.

Yesterday’s swoop is the fourth this year, and the watchdog warns that more are to come as part of a ‘major ongoing investigation’.

The news is further embarrassment for Cazenove, which only last week had its reputation sullied over insider dealing allegations.

Malcolm Calvert, 64, a former trader and partner of Cazenove, was charged with 12 counts of insider dealing involving £1million worth of shares. He denies the charges.

A spokesman for Cazenove said last night: ‘We can confirm that a sub-contractor in a support function for Cazenove was one of the eight people arrested by the FSA.’

The prestigious bank can trace its history back to the 17th century.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/queens-stockbroker-raided-by-police-and-city-watchdogs-in-biggest-ever-crackdown-on-insider-trading.html

URLs in this post:

[1] UK Daily Mail: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1039633/Queens-stockbroker-raided-police-city-watchdogs-biggest-crackdown-insider-trading.html

[2] Largest-ever insider trading probe targets Goldman Sachs: http://www.prisonplanet.com/largest-ever-insider-trading-probe-targets-goldman-sachs.html

[3] Goldman Sachs facing a new insider trading probe: http://www.prisonplanet.com/goldman-sachs-facing-a-new-insider-trading-probe.html

[4] Bill To Halt Congressional Insider Trading Gains Over 40 Sponsors: http://www.prisonplanet.com/bill-to-halt-congressional-insider-trading-gains-over-40-sponsors.html

[5] Insider-Trading Probe Reinforces Belief Market is Rigged: http://www.prisonplanet.com/insider-trading-probe-reinforces-belief-market-is-rigged.html

[6] Soros Loses French Insider-Trading Appeal: http://www.prisonplanet.com/soros-loses-french-insider-trading-appeal.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.