- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Record-High 36% of Americans Lack Confidence in Banks

Posted By admin On June 25, 2011 @ 5:24 am In Money Watch | Comments Disabled

Dennis Jacobe
Gallup [1]
June 25, 2011

PRINCETON, NJ — Thirty-six percent of Americans have “very little” or “no” confidence in U.S. banks — up from 30% last year and the highest on record. For the third consecutive year, more Americans express little or no confidence in banks than say they have “a great deal” or “quite a lot.”

Record High 36% of Americans Lack Confidence in Banks  9bcqv ouc0ys zjouehfig

Gallup has tracked the percentage of Americans saying they have a great deal or quite a lot of confidence in U.S. banks since 1979. Prior to 2009, the percentage of Americans expressing very little or no confidence in U.S. banks was generally far less than the percentage expressing a great deal or quite a lot of confidence. As recently as June 2007, before the recession began — and even in June 2008, just prior to the financial crisis later that year — more Americans had confidence in U.S. banks than had little or no confidence.

The 23% of Americans with a great deal or quite a lot of confidence in banks in 2011 is unchanged from last year and essentially the same as the 22% of 2009. All three annual measures are not only far below the pre-recession level of 41% found in June 2007, but also represent a new low in Gallup’s annual Confidence in Institutions poll.

Record High 36% of Americans Lack Confidence in Banks  030511banner3 [2]

Stock up with Fresh Food that lasts with eFoodsDirect (AD) [3]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/record-high-36-of-americans-lack-confidence-in-banks.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Gallup: http://www.gallup.com/poll/148244/Record-High-Americans-Lack-Confidence-Banks.aspx?utm_source=tagrss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=syndication&utm_term=All%20Gallup%20Headlines

[2] Image: http://www.stansberryresearch.com/pro/1103PSIEOAVD/PPSIM375/PR

[3] Stock up with Fresh Food that lasts with eFoodsDirect (AD): http://www.efoodsdirect.com/

[4] Record-High 40% of Americans Identify as Independents in ’11: http://www.prisonplanet.com/record-high-40-of-americans-identify-as-independents-in-11.html

[5] Americans’ Confidence in Television News Drops to New Low: http://www.prisonplanet.com/americans-confidence-in-television-news-drops-to-new-low.html

[6] Record-High 50% of Americans Favor Legalizing Marijuana Use: http://www.prisonplanet.com/record-high-50-of-americans-favor-legalizing-marijuana-use.html

[7] In U.S., Confidence in Newspapers, TV News Remains a Rarity: http://www.prisonplanet.com/in-u-s-confidence-in-newspapers-tv-news-remains-a-rarity.html

[8] Congress Ranks Last in Confidence in Institutions: http://www.prisonplanet.com/congress-ranks-last-in-confidence-in-institutions.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.