- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Rupert Murdoch Tweets Support For Gun Control

Posted By admin On July 23, 2012 @ 1:38 am In Featured Stories,Tile | Comments Disabled

Huffington Post [1]
July 23, 2012

Media baron Rupert Murdoch took to Twitter Saturday evening to express his support for gun-control measures in the wake of the Aurora, CO shooting that killed 12 people on Friday:

Rupert Murdoch Tweets Support For Gun Control Twitter normal [2]@rupertmurdoch [2]
Rupert Murdoch

We have to do something about gun controls. Police license okay for hunting rifle or pistol for anyone without crim or pscho record. No more

The words may come as a surprise to observers, since Murdoch’s Fox News traditionally espouses a pro-gun viewpoint.

In the aftermath of the massacre, during which suspect James Holmes allegedly used a range of firearms [8], the issue of gun control has re-emerged into the national spotlight. But while a small number of political leaders, like New York City’s Michael Bloomberg [9] and New Jersey’s Frank Lautenberg [10] have vocalized their support for it the political climate for any kind of legislation is forbidding [11].


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/rupert-murdoch-tweets-support-for-gun-control.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Huffington Post: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/07/21/rupert-murdoch-tweets-support-gun-control_n_1692437.html

[2] Image: http://twitter.com/intent/user?screen_name=rupertmurdoch

[3] July 22, 2012 1:36 am: http://twitter.com/rupertmurdoch/status/226853131932299264

[4] Twitter for iPad: http://twitter.com/#!/download/ipad

[5] Reply: https://twitter.com/intent/tweet?in_reply_to=226853131932299264

[6] Retweet: https://twitter.com/intent/retweet?tweet_id=226853131932299264

[7] Favorite: https://twitter.com/intent/favorite?tweet_id=226853131932299264

[8] range of firearms: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/07/20/james-holmes-aurora-shooting_n_1691191.html

[9] Michael Bloomberg: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/07/20/michael-bloomberg-nyc-mayor-reacts-colorado-shooting_n_1689211.html

[10] Frank Lautenberg: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/07/20/gun-control-legislation-lautenberg_n_1691093.html?utm_hp_ref=mostpopular

[11] forbidding: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/07/21/gun-control_n_1691781.html

[12] Rupert Murdoch buys into alternative media with a $70m slice of Vice: http://www.prisonplanet.com/rupert-murdoch-buys-into-alternative-media-with-a-70m-slice-of-vice.html

[13] Rupert Murdoch Not Fit to Lead News Corp., Lawmakers Say: http://www.prisonplanet.com/rupert-murdoch-not-fit-to-lead-news-corp-lawmakers-say.html

[14] Murdoch: Runaway Inflation Coming: http://www.prisonplanet.com/murdoch-runaway-inflation-coming.html

[15] Rupert Murdoch’s Fox News ran ‘black ops’ department, former executive claims: http://www.prisonplanet.com/rupert-murdochs-fox-news-ran-black-ops-department-former-executive-claims.html

[16] Barack Obama ‘could worsen crisis’: Rupert Murdoch: http://www.prisonplanet.com/barack-obama-could-worsen-crisis-rupert-murdoch.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.