- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Scavenging Soros: Market Speculator Buys Up $2 Billion Of MF Global’s Debt

Posted By admin On December 12, 2011 @ 4:35 am In Featured Stories,Tile,World News | Comments Disabled

Becket Adams
The Blaze [1]
December 12, 2011

Billionaire market speculator and philanthropist George Soros bought about $2 billion worth of European bonds from now-bankrupt MF Global — the same debt that pushed the firm to collapse, according to The Wall Street Journal [2].

When MF Global filed for bankruptcy, the firm sold part of the bonds but still had about $4.8 billion worth of them on its books, CNBC [3] reports.

They were turned over to KPMG, MF Global’s bankruptcy administrator in London; they were then offered to big investors by MF Global’s London clearing house, LCH Clearnet, the Journal said, quoting a KPMG spokeswoman.

When KPMG offered the bankrupts firm’s European debt to a variety of big investors, most of them passed. However, they were able to find one investor willing to buy the bonds at rock-bottom prices: George Soros.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/scavenging-soros-market-speculator-buys-up-2-billion-of-mf-globals-debt.html

URLs in this post:

[1] The Blaze: http://www.theblaze.com/stories/scavenging-soros-market-speculator-buys-up-2-billion-of-mf-globals-debt/

[2] The Wall Street Journal: http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052970204319004577086652040716704.html

[3] CNBC: http://www.cnbc.com/id/45610428

[4] George Soros Stands To Gain Millions From His Purchase Of MF Global Bonds: http://www.prisonplanet.com/george-soros-stands-to-gain-millions-from-his-purchase-of-mf-global-bonds.html

[5] Euro Debt Crisis Is Worse Than US in 2008: George Soros: http://www.prisonplanet.com/euro-debt-crisis-is-worse-than-us-in-2008-george-soros.html

[6] Corzine Pushed Fatal Bet on European Debt to $11.5 Billion: http://www.prisonplanet.com/corzine-pushed-fatal-bet-on-european-debt-to-11-5-billion.html

[7] China Buys Up EU Government Debt: http://www.prisonplanet.com/china-buys-up-eu-government-debt.html

[8] Soros Said to Make $1 Billion Since November on Yen Bet: http://www.prisonplanet.com/soros-said-to-make-1-billion-since-november-on-yen-bet.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.