- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Shackled U.S. citizen faces 15 years in jail after admitting online insult to Thai royal family

Posted By admin On October 11, 2011 @ 3:35 am In World News | Comments Disabled

OLIVER PICKUP
UK Daily Mail [1]
October 11, 2011

A shackled U.S. citizen pleaded guilty today to charges of defaming Thailand’s royal family – a grave crime in the south-east Asian kingdom that is punishable by up to 15 years in jail.

Thai-born American Joe Gordon has been detained since late May for translating excerpts of a locally banned biography of King Bhumibol Adulyadej and posting them online.

Judges said that a sentence would be issued on November 9 for Gordon, who committed the alleged crimes years ago while living in the U.S. state of Colorado, where he worked as a car salesman.

The case has raised concerns about the reach of Thai law and how it is applied to both Thai nationals and foreign visitors.

Thailand has the most severe lese-majesty (crimes against sovereigns) laws in the world, and critics say they have been increasingly abused by political rivals to harass opponents.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/shackled-u-s-citizen-faces-15-years-in-jail-after-admitting-online-insult-to-thai-royal-family.html

URLs in this post:

[1] UK Daily Mail: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2047317/Joe-Gordon-US-citizen-faces-15-yrs-jail-Thai-royal-family-insult.html

[2] California man faces 13 years in jail for scribbling anti-bank messages in chalk: http://www.prisonplanet.com/california-man-faces-13-years-in-jail-for-scribbling-anti-bank-messages-in-chalk.html

[3] Man Arrested, Faces 5 Years In Jail For Reporting Firearm To Police: http://www.prisonplanet.com/man-arrested-faces-5-years-in-jail-for-reporting-firearm-to-police.html

[4] Snipes Faces 3 Years In Jail For Willfully Failing To Pay Tax: http://www.prisonplanet.com/snipes-faces-3-years-in-jail-for-willfully-failing-to-pay-tax.html

[5] Thai Military Uses Force Against ‘Red Shirt’ Protesters: http://www.prisonplanet.com/thai-military-uses-force-against-red-shirt-protesters.html

[6] North Korea Sentences US Citizen To 15 Years ‘Hard Labor’: http://www.prisonplanet.com/north-korea-sentences-us-citizen-to-15-years-hard-labor.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.