- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Sharpton on 2nd Amendment: ‘People do not have the right to unregulated rights in this country’

Posted By admin On January 28, 2013 @ 6:50 am In Prison Planet | Comments Disabled

Nicholas Ballasy
Daily Caller [1]
Jan 28, 2013

Following a public policy meeting of African-American leaders, National Urban League president Marc Morial and National Action Network president Al Sharpton called for a new national assault weapons ban, saying the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution should be regulated.

“The Constitution and the Bill of Rights are not absolute. One cannot yell fire in a crowded theater and hide behind the First Amendment,” said Morial when asked by TheDC if he supports California Democratic Sen. Diane Feinstein’s assault weapon ban bill.

“And we absolutely think that the idea of banning a military style assault weapon, a weapon that I am confident that Thomas Jefferson and James Madison never laid their eyes on, is not inconsistent with the rights of those who self-protect, those who shoot, who want to participate in sporting and hunting,”

“No one has been more aggressive in our defense of the Constitution than this nation’s civil rights leaders. …We respect the Second Amendment,” Morial added. “None of these provisions speak in absolute terms.”

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/sharpton-on-2nd-amendment-%e2%80%98people-do-not-have-the-right-to-unregulated-rights-in-this-country%e2%80%99.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Daily Caller: http://dailycaller.com/2013/01/27/sharpton-on-2nd-amendment-people-do-not-have-the-right-to-unregulated-rights-in-this-country-video/

[2] Former Obama Information Czar Calls Second Amendment Rights “Crazy”: http://www.prisonplanet.com/former-obama-information-czar-calls-second-amendment-rights-crazy.html

[3] Former Seattle Police Chief Demands Repeal of Second Amendment: http://www.prisonplanet.com/former-seattle-police-chief-demands-repeal-of-second-amendment.html

[4] Dems Sneak Gun Control Amendment Into Cybersecurity Bill: http://www.prisonplanet.com/dems-sneak-gun-control-amendment-into-cybersecurity-bill.html

[5] Congress Introduces Constitutional Amendment for Parental Rights: http://www.prisonplanet.com/congress-introduces-constitutional-amendment-for-parental-rights.html

[6] Lindsey Graham not sure if bloggers have First Amendment rights: http://www.prisonplanet.com/lindsey-graham-not-sure-if-bloggers-have-first-amendment-rights.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.