- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Son of Stuxnet? Researchers Warn of Impending Cyber Attack

Posted By admin On October 19, 2011 @ 3:45 am In Featured Stories,Tile,World News | Comments Disabled

Flashback: Confirmed: Stuxnet Was False Flag Launched by Israel and U.S. [1]

LEE FERRAN
ABC News [2]
October 19, 2011

A new computer virus using “nearly identical” parts of the cyber superweapon Stuxnet has been detected on computer systems in Europe and is believed to be a precursor to a new Stuxnet-like attack, a major U.S.-based cyber security company said today.

Stuxnet was a highly sophisticated computer worm that was discovered last year and was thought to have successfully targeted and disrupted systems [3] at a nuclear enrichment plant in Iran. At the time, U.S. officials said the worm’s unprecedented complexity and potential ability tophysically sabotage industrial control systems [4] — which run everything from water plants to the power grid in the U.S. and in many countries around the world — marked a new era in cyber warfare [5].

Though no group claimed responsibility for the Stuxnet worm, several cyber security experts have said it is likely a nation-state created it and that the U.S. and Israel were on a short list of possible culprits.

Whoever it was, the same group may be at it again, researchers said, as the authors of the new virus apparently had access to original Stuxnet code that was never made public.

Full article here [2]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/son-of-stuxnet-researchers-warn-of-impending-cyber-attack.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Confirmed: Stuxnet Was False Flag Launched by Israel and U.S.: http://www.prisonplanet.com/confirmed-stuxnet-was-false-flag-launched-by-israel-and-u-s.html

[2] ABC News: http://abcnews.go.com/Blotter/stuxnet-returns-duqu-researchers-warn-similar-cyber-attack/story?id=14763854

[3] successfully targeted and disrupted systems: http://abcnews.go.com/Blotter/stuxnet-cyber-super-weapon-turned-us/story?id=12767405

[4] physically sabotage industrial control systems: http://abcnews.go.com/Technology/stuxnet-worm-cyber-weapon-targets-power-plants-factories/story?id=11713921

[5] new era in cyber warfare: http://abcnews.go.com/Blotter/cyber-threats-2011-age-stuxnet-hacktivists-social-spammers/story?id=12555830

[6] Stuxnet x20: Massive cyber spy virus ‘Flame’ hits Iran, Israel: http://www.prisonplanet.com/stuxnet-x20-massive-cyber-spy-virus-flame-hits-iran-israel.html

[7] Will Stuxnet Malware Be Used In False Flag Attack?: http://www.prisonplanet.com/will-stuxnet-malware-be-used-in-false-flag-attack.html

[8] Computer Expert: US Was Behind Stuxnet Virus: http://www.prisonplanet.com/computer-expert-us-was-behind-stuxnet-virus.html

[9] Stuxnet virus attack: Russia warns of ‘Iranian Chernobyl’: http://www.prisonplanet.com/stuxnet-virus-attack-russia-warns-of-%e2%80%98iranian-chernobyl.html

[10] U.S. & Israel Launch New Phase Of Cyber Warfare: http://www.prisonplanet.com/u-s-israel-launch-new-phase-of-cyber-warfare.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.