- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Sony Hosted Obama Fundraiser, Releasing Bin Laden Movie Before Election

Posted By admin On August 10, 2011 @ 4:21 pm In Featured Stories | Comments Disabled

Michael Warren
The Weekly Standard [1]
Wednesday, August 10, 2011

There may be an overtly political reason that moviegoers will be seeing the story of the Osama bin Laden raid just before they vote for president. Sony Pictures, the company distributing next year’s film, hosted a fundraiser for Barack Obama on their studio’s premises in California last April.

So far, Sony is the only major studio to hold a political fundraiser this cycle. According to Deadline Hollywood, Sony will release the bin Laden movie, directed by Academy Award-winning director Kathryn Bigelow, on October 12, 2012–less than a month before the presidential election.

“The eyebrow does go up when you see the release date,” says Douglas Urbanski, a Hollywood producer and conservative radio talk show host.

Full story here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/sony-hosted-obama-fundraiser-releasing-bin-laden-movie-before-election.html

URLs in this post:

[1] The Weekly Standard: http://www.weeklystandard.com/blogs/studio-distributing-bin-laden-movie-hosted-obama-fundraiser_588177.html

[2] Sony Pictures Bearing Down On Kathryn Bigelow’s Bin Laden Movie: http://www.prisonplanet.com/sony-pictures-bearing-down-on-kathryn-bigelows-bin-laden-movie.html

[3] Bin Laden Death Movie Mired in Controversy: http://www.prisonplanet.com/bin-laden-death-movie-mired-in-controversy.html

[4] Senate Intelligence Committee drops bin Laden film probe: http://www.prisonplanet.com/senate-intelligence-committee-drops-bin-laden-film-probe.html

[5] Obama Plays Bin Laden Card In Re-election Effort: http://www.prisonplanet.com/obama-plays-bin-laden-card-in-re-election-effort.html

[6] Obama fundraiser named U.S. ambassador to Canada: http://www.prisonplanet.com/obama-fundraiser-named-us-ambassador-to-canada.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.