- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Stocks Drop Sharply Amid Uncertainty

Posted By admin On September 9, 2011 @ 10:02 am In Money Watch | Comments Disabled

CHRISTINE HAUSER
NY Times [1]
Sept 9, 2011

Stocks on Wall Street declined sharply on Friday in the wake of a speech by President Obama on jobs that added to the uncertainty already weighing on financial markets over European sovereign debt and the weak economic recovery.

By midday, the Standard & Poor’s index of 500 stocks had fallen about 2.5 percent to 1,155.47. The Dow Jones industrial average lost 303.34 points, or 2.6 percent, to 10,992.47, and the Nasdaq composite index was down 2.27 percent to 2,471.97.

Most of the sectors in the broader market were down by 2 percent or more.

They followed indexes in Europe lower. By late afternoon, the FTSE 100 in Britain was down 2.4 percent. The Euro Stoxx 50 index was down 4 percent and the CAC 40 index in France was down 3.6 percent.

Stocks in Europe extended their losses after the European Central Bank said Jürgen Stark, a German who sits on the executive board of the E.C.B. and is known as an opponent of the bank’s bond-buying program, will resign his post. The DAX in Germany fell 2.6 percent.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/stocks-drop-sharply-amid-uncertainty.html

URLs in this post:

[1] NY Times: http://www.nytimes.com/2011/09/10/business/daily-stock-market-activity.html?_r=1&pagewanted=print

[2] European Stocks Fall Sharply as Debt Fears Hit Banks: http://www.prisonplanet.com/european-stocks-fall-sharply-as-debt-fears-hit-banks.html

[3] Stocks Sharply Lower on EU Fears, Led by Techs: http://www.prisonplanet.com/stocks-sharply-lower-on-eu-fears-led-by-techs.html

[4] Stocks Extend Longest Drop Since 2008 on Debt: http://www.prisonplanet.com/stocks-extend-longest-drop-since-2008-on-debt.html

[5] Stocks, Grains, Peso Drop on Swine Flu; Treasuries, Yen Gain: http://www.prisonplanet.com/stocks-grains-peso-drop-on-swine-flu-treasuries-yen-gain.html

[6] U.S. Markets Drop Sharply After Big Global Sell-Off: http://www.prisonplanet.com/u-s-markets-drop-sharply-after-big-global-sell-off.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.