- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Stocks Tumble at Open Amid Economic Fears

Posted By admin On August 10, 2011 @ 6:39 am In Featured Stories | Comments Disabled

CNBC [1]
August 10, 2011

Stocks opened sharply lower Wednesday following the previous session’s sharp rally as investors remained cautious over the prospects for the U.S. economy and the ongoing euro zone crisis.

The Dow Jones Industrial Average tumbled at the open, led by Disney and BofA, after surging over 600 points in the final hour of trading in the previous session amid a heavily volatile session.

The S&P 500 and Nasdaq also declined sharply. The CBOE Volatility Index, widely considered the best gauge of fear in the market, traded near 40.

All 10 S&P sectors slumped, led by financials and consumer discretionary.

Full story here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/stocks-tumble-at-open-amid-economic-fears.html

URLs in this post:

[1] CNBC: http://www.cnbc.com/id/44088463

[2] Stocks Sharply Lower on EU Fears, Led by Techs: http://www.prisonplanet.com/stocks-sharply-lower-on-eu-fears-led-by-techs.html

[3] Stocks Lag Amid Debt Talk Worries; Gold Soars: http://www.prisonplanet.com/stocks-lag-amid-debt-talk-worries-gold-soars.html

[4] Global Markets Tumble Amid Economic Fears: http://www.prisonplanet.com/global-markets-tumble-amid-economic-fears.html

[5] Dow Skids 300 as Recession Worries Hit: http://www.prisonplanet.com/dow-skids-300-as-recession-worries-hit.html

[6] U.S. Stocks Tumble, Sending Dow Below 9,000; GM, Insurers Slide: http://www.prisonplanet.com/us-stocks-tumble-sending-dow-below-9000-gm-insurers-slide.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.