- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Study: Bernanke, Paulson misled public on bailouts

Posted By admin On October 5, 2009 @ 9:26 am In Featured Stories | Comments Disabled

Sean Lengell
Washington Times [1]
Monday, Oct 5th, 2009

Federal Reserve Chairman Ben S. Bernanke and former Treasury Secretary Henry M. Paulson Jr. misled the public about the financial weakness of Bank of America and other early recipients of the government’s $700 billion Wall Street bailout, creating “unrealistic expectations” about the companies and damaging the program’s credibility, according to a report by the program’s independent watchdog.

The federal government last October loaned Bank of America and eight other “healthy” financial institutions a total of $125 billion – the initial payout from the Troubled Asset Relief Program, or TARP – in an attempt to avoid a series of major bank collapses that would push the sputtering economy into a free fall or depression.

The rationale for giving money to stable banks and not failing ones, regulators said, was that such institutions would be better able to lend money and thus unfreeze tight credit markets – a major factor in last year’s Wall Street losses.

But an audit released Monday by TARP Special Inspector General Neil Barofsky says senior government officials and Wall Street regulators, including Mr. Bernanke and Mr. Paulson, had “affirmative concerns” that several of the nine institutions were financially shaky.

Full article here [1]

Study: Bernanke, Paulson misled public on bailouts  260909banner [2]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/study-bernanke-paulson-misled-public-on-bailouts.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Washington Times : http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2009/oct/05/report-bernanke-paulson-misled-on-bailouts/

[2] Image: http://prisonplanet.tv/signup.html

[3] McCain: Paulson and Bernanke Promised that the $700 Billion Troubled Asset Relief Program Would Focus on the Housing Meltdown: http://www.prisonplanet.com/mccain-paulson-and-bernanke-promised-that-the-700-billion-troubled-asset-relief-program-would-focus-on-the-housing-meltdown.html

[4] Paulson and Bernanke: Ineffective, Dishonest, And Criminal: http://www.prisonplanet.com/paulson-and-bernanke-ineffective-dishonest-and-criminal.html

[5] Bernanke, Paulson Pressed to Seek Big-Government Bank Bailout: http://www.prisonplanet.com/bernanke-paulson-pressed-to-seek-big-government-bank-bailout.html

[6] Should Hank Paulson Be In Jail?: http://www.prisonplanet.com/should-hank-paulson-be-in-jail.html

[7] Sweet Bernanke-Paulson’s Baadassss Song: http://www.prisonplanet.com/sweet-bernanke-paulson%e2%80%99s-baadassss-song.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.