- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Syria: All communications reportedly down

Posted By admin On May 8, 2013 @ 10:55 am In World News | Comments Disabled

Eric Mack
CNet [1]
May 8, 2013

Google tweeted Tuesday that all its services are inaccessible in Syria, where a bloody civil war is ongoing and Israeli airstrikes were conducted over the weekend.

Google [2] reports that Internet traffic from the beleaguered Middle Eastern nation suddenly stopped at about 11:45 a.m. Pacific Time.

Other traffic-monitoring services confirmed the outage. Renesys [3] also tweeted:

Renesys confirms loss of Syrian Internet connectivity 18:43 UTC. BGP routes down, inbound traces failing.

This isn’t the first time the country has fallen off the digital map in recent months. A similaroutage [4] last November lasted for two days.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/syria-all-communications-reportedly-down.html

URLs in this post:

[1] CNet: http://news.cnet.com/8301-17938_105-57583342-1/syria-all-communications-reportedly-down/

[2] Google: http://www.google.com/transparencyreport/traffic/#expand=SY

[3] Renesys: https://twitter.com/renesys/status/331853496339021824

[4] outage: http://news.cnet.com/8301-1023_3-57556156-93/blackout-syria-vanishes-from-internet/

[5] Syria Traffic Goes “Dark” As Country Disappears From Internet: http://www.prisonplanet.com/syria-traffic-goes-dark-as-country-disappears-from-internet.html

[6] Libya Internet Shut Down Amid Protests, Per Multiple Reports: http://www.prisonplanet.com/libya-internet-shut-down-amid-protests-per-multiple-reports.html

[7] Strange Changes in Iranian Transit: http://www.prisonplanet.com/strange-changes-in-iranian-transit.html

[8] Algeria Internet Not Shut Down, According To Renesys Analysis: http://www.prisonplanet.com/algeria-internet-not-shut-down-according-to-renesys-analysis.html

[9] When Google Goes Down, So Does 5 Percent Of The Internet?: http://www.prisonplanet.com/when-google-goes-down-so-does-5-percent-of-the-internet.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.