- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Texas Considering Arizona-Style Immigration Law

Posted By admin On March 3, 2011 @ 10:06 am In U.S. News | Comments Disabled

Jon E. Dougherty
Newsroom America [1]
Thursday, March 3, 2011

(Newsroom America) — Lawmakers in Texas are eyeing the adoption of an immigration reform law similar to one in Arizona, making the Lone Star state the latest to join about a dozen others also considering it.

Local media reported that the plan being considered by state lawmakers would allow, but not require, state and local police to help enforce federal immigration laws.

Officials said the compromise is meant to placate both Democrats and Republicans. Immigration rights advocates are opposed to the measure, saying it would lead to racial discrimination.

The Texas law mirrors parts of the law passed in Arizona that set off a federal lawsuit and was denounced by President Obama.

Full story here. [1]

Texas Considering Arizona Style Immigration Law 250111banner3 [2]

Stock up with Fresh Food that lasts with eFoodsDirect (AD) [3]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/texas-considering-arizona-style-immigration-law.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Newsroom America: http://www.newsroomamerica.com/story/106069/texas_considering_arizona-style_immigration_law.html

[2] Image: http://www.stansberryresearch.com/pro/1011PSIENDVD/PPSIM128/PR

[3] Stock up with Fresh Food that lasts with eFoodsDirect (AD): http://www.efoodsdirect.com/

[4] ‘Arizona Style’ Immigration Law Proposed in Texas: http://www.prisonplanet.com/arizona-style-immigration-law-proposed-in-texas.html

[5] Nearly Half of United States Considering Arizona-Style Immigration Legislation: http://www.prisonplanet.com/nearly-half-of-united-states-considering-arizona-style-immigration-legislation.html

[6] Texas Rep Wants to Import AZ Immigration Law: http://www.prisonplanet.com/texas-rep-wants-to-import-az-immigration-law.html

[7] 17 States Now Filing Versions of Arizona’s Immigration Bill SB 1070: http://www.prisonplanet.com/17-states-now-filing-versions-of-arizonas-immigration-bill-sb-1070.html

[8] Immigration Wars: More States Looking at Arizona-Style Laws: http://www.prisonplanet.com/immigration-wars-more-states-looking-at-arizona-style-laws.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.