- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Treasury: U.S. to lose $25 billion on auto bailout

Posted By admin On August 14, 2012 @ 1:54 am In Money Watch | Comments Disabled

DAVID SHEPARDSON
Detroit News [1]
Aug 14, 2012

The Treasury Department says in a new report the government expects to lose more than $25 billion on the $85 billionĀ auto bailout. That’s 15 percent higher than its previous forecast.

In a monthly report sent to Congress on Friday, the Obama administration boosted its forecast of expected losses by more than $3.3 billion to almost $25.1 billion, up from $21.7 billion in the last quarterly update.

The report may still underestimate the losses. The report covers predicted losses through May 31, when GM’s stock price was $22.20 a share.

On Monday, GM stock fell $0.07, or 0.3 percent, to $20.47. At that price, the government would lose another $850 million on its GM bailout.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/treasury-u-s-to-lose-25-billion-on-auto-bailout.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Detroit News: http://www.detroitnews.com/article/20120813/AUTO01/208130392

[2] Goldman Sachs Raking in Massive Profits: http://www.prisonplanet.com/goldman-sachs-raking-in-massive-profits.html

[3] Bernanke Only Adds Fuel To The Fire With Quantitative Easing: http://www.prisonplanet.com/bernanke-only-adds-fuel-to-the-fire-with-quantitative-easing.html

[4] Entering the Greatest Depression in History: http://www.prisonplanet.com/entering-the-greatest-depression-in-history.html

[5] Replace the Federal Reserve Altogether A Good Idea: http://www.prisonplanet.com/replace-the-federal-reserve-altogether-a-good-idea.html

[6] Economic Pain For Upholding A Broken System: http://www.prisonplanet.com/economic-pain-for-upholding-a-broken-system.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.