- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Trent Lott explains support for treaty he once said would create ‘UN on steroids’

Posted By admin On May 22, 2012 @ 3:00 am In Featured Stories,Tile | Comments Disabled

Steven Nelson
Daily Caller [1]
Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Former Senate Majority Leader Trent Lott told The Daily Caller on Monday that he isn’t a hypocrite for lobbying in favor of a treaty he emphatically denounced as recently as 2007.

Lott said that he no longer believes the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea — also known as the Law of the Sea Treaty — would “cede our national sovereignty, both militarily and economically,” as he said five years ago when the issue was last brought before the Senate.

The treaty would grant the United Nations unprecedented taxing authority over American companies by transferring permitting and royalty payments currently made to the U.S. government for offshore drilling to the International Seabed Authority, a U.N.-created agency that would have the power to redistribute billions of dollars [2] to other countries.

It would also commit the United States to accept international arbitration of maritime disputes.

For three decades, the United States has declined to sign on.

“Over time, circumstances change,” Lott told TheDC. “The world has changed from an economic and military standpoint. … Some people say ‘we have the biggest, baddest navy fleet in the world, we’ll go and do what we want to,’ [but] we ought to be careful about how we think about that.”

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/trent-lott-explains-support-for-treaty-he-once-said-would-create-%e2%80%98un-on-steroids%e2%80%99.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Daily Caller: http://dailycaller.com/2012/05/21/trent-lott-explains-support-for-treaty-he-once-said-would-create-un-on-steroids/

[2] billions of dollars: http://www.heritage.org/research/reports/2011/06/un-convention-on-the-law-of-the-sea-erodes-us-sovereignty-over-us-extended-continental-shelf

[3] As a Senate Leader Trent Lott Opposed Law of Sea Treaty, As Former Senator He’s Lobbying For It: http://www.prisonplanet.com/as-a-senate-leader-trent-lott-opposed-law-of-sea-treaty-as-former-senator-hes-lobbying-for-it.html

[4] UN on Steroids: Trent Lott Turns to The Dark Side: http://www.prisonplanet.com/un-on-steroids-trent-lott-turns-to-the-dark-side.html

[5] Law of the Sea Treaty now dead, DeMint says: http://www.prisonplanet.com/law-of-the-sea-treaty-now-dead-demint-says.html

[6] Climate Treaty Will Create World Government Dictatorship: http://www.prisonplanet.com/climate-treaty-will-create-world-government-dictatorship.html

[7] Obama to Sign U.N. Firearms Treaty Rejected by Senate: http://www.prisonplanet.com/obama-to-sign-u-n-firearms-treaty-rejected-by-senate.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.