- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

TSA Agents Inspect Highway Vehicles In Tennessee

Posted By admin On October 20, 2011 @ 12:30 pm In Featured Stories | Comments Disabled

Adam Ghassemi
News Channel 5 [1]
Thursday, October 20, 2011

PORTLAND, Tenn. – You’re probably used to seeing TSA’s signature blue uniforms at the airport, but now agents are hitting the interstates to fight terrorism with Visible Intermodal Prevention and Response (VIPR).

“Where is a terrorist more apt to be found? Not these days on an airplane more likely on the interstate,” said Tennessee Department of Safety & Homeland Security Commissioner Bill Gibbons.

Tuesday Tennessee was first to deploy VIPR simultaneously at five weigh stations and two bus stations across the state.

Agents are recruiting truck drivers, like Rudy Gonzales, into the First Observer Highway Security Program to say something if they see something.

Full story here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/tsa-agents-inspect-highway-vehicles-in-tennessee.html

URLs in this post:

[1] News Channel 5: http://www.newschannel5.com/story/15725035/officials-claim-tennessee-becomes-first-state-to-deploy-vipr-statewide

[2] Mission Creep: This Tennessee Highway Is Now Patrolled by TSA: http://www.prisonplanet.com/mission-creep-this-tennessee-highway-is-now-patrolled-by-tsa.html

[3] DHS Announces Halloween Checkpoints In Tennessee To Keep Children Safe: http://www.prisonplanet.com/dhs-announces-halloween-checkpoints-in-tennessee-to-keep-children-safe.html

[4] Tennessee Joins TSA In Creating Random Check Points: http://www.prisonplanet.com/tennessee-joins-tsa-in-creating-random-check-points.html

[5] TSA deploys ‘VIPR’ teams throughout Tennessee to set up illegal security checkpoints on interstates: http://www.prisonplanet.com/tsa-deploys-vipr-teams-throughout-tennessee-to-set-up-illegal-security-checkpoints-on-interstates.html

[6] Kentucky Supreme Court Rules Highway Checkpoints Illegal: http://www.prisonplanet.com/kentucky-supreme-court-rules-highway-checkpoints-illegal.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.