- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

TSA hasn’t yet complied with order to start public discussion on body scanners

Posted By admin On July 17, 2012 @ 2:00 am In U.S. News | Comments Disabled

Alex Pappas
Daily Caller [1]
July 17, 2012

It’s been one year since a federal court ordered the Transportation Security Administration to open up its new body scanner system to a process that includes taking comments from the public and justifying the policy, yet the TSA has not yet followed through with the order yet.

Because the agency hasn’t complied, the Electronic Privacy Information Center (EPIC) organization plans to file a motion with the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit on Tuesday to ask the court to enforce it.

Ginger McCall, a director at EPIC, confirmed to The Daily Caller on Monday that the group is planning to file the motion Tuesday about the failure of TSA to comply with the court’s notice-and-comment rulemaking order.

“A year has passed,” McCall told TheDC. “The agency has not demonstrated any steps to indicate that they have taken that notice-and-comment rule making. We are filing a motion with a court to ask the court to enforce their own order.”

Full story here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/tsa-hasn%e2%80%99t-yet-complied-with-order-to-start-public-discussion-on-body-scanners.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Daily Caller: http://dailycaller.com/2012/07/17/tsa-hasnt-complied-with-order-to-start-public-discussion-on-body-scanners/

[2] TSA Denies Ignoring Court Order Over Body Scanners: http://www.prisonplanet.com/tsa-denies-ignoring-court-order-over-body-scanners.html

[3] Travelers file complaints over TSA body scanners: http://www.prisonplanet.com/travelers-file-complaints-over-tsa-body-scanners.html

[4] Group Demands Congress Halt Funding For TSA Body Scanners: http://www.prisonplanet.com/group-demands-congress-halt-funding-for-tsa-body-scanners.html

[5] Federal Court Rules TSA Violated Law By Introducing Body Scanners: http://www.prisonplanet.com/federal-court-rules-tsa-violated-law-by-introducing-body-scanners.html

[6] Group Says Body Scanners Can Store, Transfer Images: http://www.prisonplanet.com/group-says-body-scanners-can-store-transfer-images.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.