- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

TSA uniform perks more expensive than Marine Corps

Posted By admin On November 11, 2012 @ 8:18 am In Tile,U.S. News | Comments Disabled

Joel Gehrke
Washington Examiner [1]
November 11, 2012

Under their new collective bargaining agreement, Transportation Security Administration officers get to spend more taxpayer money on their uniforms every year than a United States Marine Corps lieutenant can spend in a lifetime.

“TSA employees will see their uniform allowances nearly double to $446 per year,” the House Transportation Committee noted in a press release [2] on the TSA’s new collective bargaining agreement.  “By comparison, a combat Marine Lieutenant receives a one-time uniform allowance of $400.  The cost of the increase in TSA uniform allowance is an estimated $9.63 million annually.”

Rep. John Mica, R-Fla., faulted TSA for failing to streamline its bureaucracy or address criticism of security failures, such as therecent inspector general report [3] on the failure to screen checked baggage at the airport in Honolulu, Hawaii.

“While we must respect employee rights to be represented by organized labor, TSA has failed to represent the flying public and has missed the mark on improving procedures and protocols while focusing on tie tacks and tattoos,” Mica said in a statement today. “Even though the army of TSA screeners has reached a labor agreement, it is my prediction they will never be happy while they must deal with this gigantic and often mindless bureaucracy. Many of these hard-working TSA workers are being left in the lurch.”

Full article here [1]

 


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/tsa-uniform-perks-more-expensive-than-marine-corps.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Washington Examiner: http://washingtonexaminer.com/tsa-uniform-perks-more-expensive-than-marine-corps/article/2513111#.UJ-lV-R3Tni

[2] noted in a press release: http://republicans.transportation.house.gov/News/PRArticle.aspx?NewsID=1749

[3] recent inspector general report: http://www.usatoday.com/story/todayinthesky/2012/10/09/tsa-honolulu-report/1623029/

[4] Marine Corps Scientist: BIG Bomb Could Seal Gulf Oil Leak: http://www.prisonplanet.com/marine-corps-scientist-big-bomb-could-seal-gulf-oil-leak.html

[5] Marine Corps Veteran Questions DHS on Huge Ammo Buys: http://www.prisonplanet.com/marine-corps-veteran-questions-dhs-on-huge-ammo-buys.html

[6] Marine Corps Law Enforcement Battalions To “Control Civil Disturbances”: http://www.prisonplanet.com/marine-corps-law-enforcement-battalions-to-control-civil-disturbances.html

[7] Active National Guardsman Supports Protesters … In His Uniform: http://www.prisonplanet.com/active-national-guardsman-supports-protesters-%e2%80%a6-in-his-uniform.html

[8] Marine Corps Colonel: Homeland Security Building “Domestic Army”: http://www.prisonplanet.com/marine-corps-colonel-homeland-security-building-domestic-army.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.