- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

U.S. Army buys balloon-like aircraft tested near border

Posted By admin On October 25, 2009 @ 6:15 am In U.S. News | Comments Disabled

Geoff Nixon
CTV.ca News [1]
Sunday, Oct 25th, 2009

The U.S. Army has purchased the balloon-like aircraft that was tested near the Ontario-Michigan border this past summer, which ignited a debate over the privacy rights of border residents.

U.S. Army buys balloon like aircraft tested near border  600 aerostat balloon 090814

Sierra Nevada Corp. confirmed the military bought the helium-inflated Aerostat aircraft that flew over the St. Clair River, across the border from Sarnia, Ont., for part of the summer.

A company representative confirmed in a telephone interview with CTV.ca that the balloon was sold after the Army watched a demonstration by Sierra Nevada Corp. employees in Yuma, Ariz.

“They went out there, they demonstrated and (the Army) said: ‘We’ll take it,’” said Bradley M. Lott, a retired U.S. Marine Corps major general who ran the testing of the Aerostat in Port Huron, Mich.

Full article here [1]

U.S. Army buys balloon like aircraft tested near border  260909banner [2]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/u-s-army-buys-balloon-like-aircraft-tested-near-border.html

URLs in this post:

[1] CTV.ca News : http://www.ctv.ca/servlet/ArticleNews/story/CTVNews/20091023/aerostat_sale_091024/20091024?hub=TopStoriesV2

[2] Image: http://prisonplanet.tv/signup.html

[3] Balloon Boy Dad ‘Wants An Apocalypse Bunker’: http://www.prisonplanet.com/balloon-boy-dad-wants-an-apocalypse-bunker.html

[4] U.S. Army Buys Nearly 600,000 Soviet AK-47 Magazines: http://www.prisonplanet.com/u-s-army-buys-nearly-600000-soviet-ak-47-magazines.html

[5] Bernanke Warns: U.S. Debt Could Balloon to More Than 100% of GDP: http://www.prisonplanet.com/bernanke-warns-u-s-debt-could-balloon-to-more-than-100-of-gdp.html

[6] Turkey Deploys Anti-Aircraft Guns On Syrian Border: http://www.prisonplanet.com/turkey-deploys-anti-aircraft-guns-on-syrian-border.html

[7] US Navy Drone Makes First Aircraft Carrier Landing: http://www.prisonplanet.com/us-navy-drone-makes-first-aircraft-carrier-landing.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.