- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

U.S. birth rate falls again, a possible effect of economic downturn

Posted By admin On August 28, 2010 @ 3:57 am In Money Watch | Comments Disabled

Washington Post [1]
Saturday, August 28, 2010

The number of babies born in the United States has dropped for the second year in a row, according to new federal statistics released Friday that provide more evidence that the nation’s economic troubles are affecting the birth rate.

Provisional data for 2009 found that an estimated 4,136,000 babies were born in the United States in 2009, a 2.6 percent drop from 2008, according to the National Center for Health Statistics.

(ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW)

U.S. birth rate falls again, a possible effect of economic downturn 240810banner2 [2]

Having A Supply Of Healthy Foods That Last Just Makes Sense (AD) [3]

The drop follows a 2 percent fall in births that occurred between 2007 and 2008 [4], which pushed the nation’s fertility rate below 2.1 per woman, meaning Americans were no longer giving birth to enough children to keep the population from declining.

That drop prompted speculation that the fall was the result of the recession–a notion supported by an analysis [5] of data from 25 states, including Maryland and Virginia, that was released in April by the Pew Research Center. The report found that states that tended to suffer most from the recession had the biggest declines in births.

Full story here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/u-s-birth-rate-falls-again-a-possible-effect-of-economic-downturn.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Washington Post: http://voices.washingtonpost.com/checkup/2010/08/us_birth_rate_falls_again.html

[2] Image: http://www.infowarsshop.com/United-We-Fall_p_339.html

[3] Having A Supply Of Healthy Foods That Last Just Makes Sense (AD): http://www.efoodsdirect.com//index.html?aid=14&adid=43

[4] 2008: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/data/nvsr/nvsr58/nvsr58_16.pdf

[5] analysis: http://pewresearch.org/pubs/1552/birth-rates-united-states-decline-recession

[6] U.S. Birth Rate Hits Record Low: http://www.prisonplanet.com/u-s-birth-rate-hits-record-low.html

[7] CDC: U.S. Birth Rate Hits All-Time Low; 40.7% of Babies Born to Unmarried Women: http://www.prisonplanet.com/cdc-u-s-birth-rate-hits-all-time-low-40-7-of-babies-born-to-unmarried-women.html

[8] Dollar Falls Most Against Euro Since 1999 Debut on Fed’s Rate: http://www.prisonplanet.com/dollar-falls-most-against-euro-since-1999-debut-on-fed%e2%80%99s-rate.html

[9] Euro Falls to 13-Month Low Versus Dollar; ECB Debated Rate Cut: http://www.prisonplanet.com/euro-falls-to-13-month-low-versus-dollar-ecb-debated-rate-cut.html

[10] Dollar Libor Falls to Lowest Since Lehman Failure on Rate Cuts: http://www.prisonplanet.com/dollar-libor-falls-to-lowest-since-lehman-failure-on-rate-cuts.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.