- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

U.S. Stocks Fall After Putin Says Russia Will Assist Syria

Posted By admin On September 6, 2013 @ 10:59 am In Money Watch | Comments Disabled

Lu Wang & Nick Taborek
Bloomberg.com [1]
September 6, 2013

U.S. stocks [2] rose as slower-than-forecast jobs growth eased concern about reductions in Federal Reserve stimulus, overshadowing an escalation in tension between America andRussia [3] over Syria [4].

Lennar Corp. and D.R. Horton [5] Inc. rose 2.6 percent to pace gains among homebuilders as bond yields plunged. Timken Co. advanced 4.5 percent after it agreed to spin off its steel unit. E*Trade Financial Corp. climbed 5 percent amid an analyst upgrade. Mattress Firm Holding Corp. dropped 16 percent after cutting its forecast.

The Standard & Poor’s 500 Index rose 0.3 percent to 1,659.88 at 11:32 a.m. in New York, erasing an earlier loss of as much as 0.9 percent. The Dow Jones Industrial Average [6] added 36.25 points, or 0.2 percent, to 14,973.73. Trading in S&P 500 stocks was 15 percent higher than the 30-day average at this time of day.

“It’s a very skittish stock market,” John Augustine, who helps manage $27 billion as chief market strategist at Cincinnati-based Fifth Third Bancorp, said in a phone interview. “We’re in a period where markets will react quickly to external news from a variety of sources, whether it’s the bond market [7], the Middle East [8], or one single economic report.”

Full story here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/u-s-stocks-fall-after-putin-says-russia-will-assist-syria.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Bloomberg.com: http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-09-06/u-s-stock-index-futures-little-changed-before-jobs-data.html

[2] stocks: http://www.bloomberg.com/quote/SPX:IND

[3] Russia: http://topics.bloomberg.com/russia/

[4] Syria: http://topics.bloomberg.com/syria/

[5] D.R. Horton: http://topics.bloomberg.com/d.r.-horton/

[6] Dow Jones Industrial Average: http://topics.bloomberg.com/dow-jones-industrial-average/

[7] bond market: http://topics.bloomberg.com/bond-market/

[8] Middle East: http://topics.bloomberg.com/middle-east/

[9] U.S. Stocks Could Fall 6%: Doug Kass: http://www.prisonplanet.com/us-stocks-could-fall-6-doug-kass.html

[10] U.S. Stocks Drop as Energy, Raw-Material Producers Fall: http://www.prisonplanet.com/us-stocks-drop-as-energy-raw-material-producers-fall.html

[11] U.S. Stocks Tumble, Sending Dow Below 9,000; GM, Insurers Slide: http://www.prisonplanet.com/us-stocks-tumble-sending-dow-below-9000-gm-insurers-slide.html

[12] Stocks Drop Sharply Amid Uncertainty: http://www.prisonplanet.com/stocks-drop-sharply-amid-uncertainty.html

[13] U.S. Stocks Advance in Biggest Election Day Rally Since 1984: http://www.prisonplanet.com/us-stocks-advance-in-biggest-election-day-rally-since-1984.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.