- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

U.S. to recognize Libyan rebels as legitimate government

Posted By admin On July 15, 2011 @ 8:24 am In Featured Stories,Tile,World News | Comments Disabled

William Wan
Washington Post [1]
July 15, 2011

The United States is granting Libyan rebel leaders full diplomatic recognition as the governing authority of Libya, after five months of fighting to oust longtime ruler Moammar Gaddafi, Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton said Friday.

The decision–announced at a meeting here of 30 Western and Arab nations–paves the way for the rebels to access some of Libya’s frozen U.S. assets, which total more than $30 billion.

Stock up with Fresh Food that lasts with eFoodsDirect (AD) [2]

  • A d v e r t i s e m e n t

“I am announcing today that, until an interim authority is in place, the United States will recognize the TNC as the legitimate governing authority for Libya, and we will deal with it on that basis,” Clinton said, using the acronym for the rebels’ governing Transitional National Council.

The foreign ministers of France and Italy, both of whom recognized the rebels earlier in the conflict, said all nations at the meeting were now prepared to follow suit. France pledged to unfreeze $250 million in assets in coming days and give the money to the rebels, and Italy pledged to unfreeze $100 million.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/u-s-to-recognize-libyan-rebels-as-legitimate-government.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Washington Post: http://www.washingtonpost.com/world/middle-east/western-arab-leaders-meet-in-turkey-on-libyas-future/2011/07/15/gIQAZLbjFI_story.html

[2] Stock up with Fresh Food that lasts with eFoodsDirect (AD): http://www.efoodsdirect.com/

[3] France Ready to Recognize al-Qaeda as Syria’s Legitimate Government: http://www.prisonplanet.com/france-ready-to-recognize-al-qaeda-as-syrias-legitimate-government.html

[4] Satire: Cameron to Step Down, Recognize Rioters as Legitimate Government?: http://www.prisonplanet.com/cameron-to-step-down-recognize-rioters-as-legitimate-government-satire.html

[5] Clinton Announces al-Qaeda as Legitimate Government of Libya: http://www.prisonplanet.com/clinton-announces-al-qaeda-as-legitimate-government-of-libya.html

[6] Libyan rebels must talk to Gaddafi’s government: France: http://www.prisonplanet.com/libyan-rebels-must-talk-to-gaddafi%e2%80%99s-government-france.html

[7] Senator McCain: Arm Libyan rebels, like Afghanistan in 1980s: http://www.prisonplanet.com/senator-mccain-arm-libyan-rebels-like-afghanistan-in-1980s.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.