- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Unemployment Probably Topped 9% in May: U.S. Economy Preview

Posted By admin On May 31, 2009 @ 4:40 am In Money Watch | Comments Disabled

Shobhana Chandra
Bloomberg [1]
Sunday, May 31, 2009

Unemployment in the U.S. probably surpassed 9 percent in May for the first time in more than 25 years, underscoring forecasts that the economy will be slow to pull out of the worst recession in half a century, economists said before a report this week.

The jobless rate climbed to 9.2 percent, the highest level since September 1983, according to the median estimate in a Bloomberg News survey ahead of the Labor Department’s June 5 report. Other data may show manufacturing and service industries shrank at a slower pace and consumer spending dropped.

“The economy is decaying at a slower rate and that is the best you can say,” said Steven Ricchiuto, chief economist at Mizuho Securities USA Inc. in New York. “I can’t tell you we are out of the woods yet.”

(ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW)

Unemployment Probably Topped 9% in May: U.S. Economy Preview  290509banner [2]

Economists forecast the jobless rate will head to almost 10 percent by the end of the year, depriving Americans of the income needed to propel spending and stoke a vigorous recovery. Access to credit will likely also be limited as record defaults and foreclosures make banks reluctant to lend.

The unemployment rate is predicted to rise from 8.9 percent in April. Payrolls probably fell by 521,000 this month after declining by 539,000 in April, the survey also showed. Job losses peaked at 741,000 in January, the most since 1949.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/unemployment-probably-topped-9-in-may-us-economy-preview.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Bloomberg: http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601068&sid=aSc829RcWzSc&refer=home

[2] Image: http://www.efoodsdirect.com/ammo-food.html?aid=14&adid=5

[3] Joblessness Probably Rose to 16-Year High: U.S. Economy Preview: http://www.prisonplanet.com/joblessness-probably-rose-to-16-year-high-us-economy-preview.html

[4] Unemployment in U.S. Probably Climbed in March to 25-Year High: http://www.prisonplanet.com/unemployment-in-us-probably-climbed-in-march-to-25-year-high.html

[5] 2008 Job Losses Probably Worst Since 1945: U.S. Economy Preview: http://www.prisonplanet.com/2008-job-losses-probably-worst-since-1945-us-economy-preview.html

[6] Home Sales Probably Held Near Decade Low: U.S. Economy Preview: http://www.prisonplanet.com/home-sales-probably-held-near-decade-low-us-economy-preview.html

[7] U.S. Economy: Unemployment Rate Increases to 8.1%: http://www.prisonplanet.com/us-economy-unemployment-rate-increases-to-81.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.