- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Virginia to seek expedited Supreme Court review of suit over health-care law

Posted By admin On February 4, 2011 @ 5:22 am In U.S. News | Comments Disabled

Rosalind S. Helderman
Washington Post [1]
Feb 4, 2011

RICHMOND – Virginia will ask that the U.S. Supreme Court immediately review the state’s constitutional challenge to the federal health-care overhaul, a rare legal request to bypass appeals and ask for early intervention from the nation’s highest court, Attorney General Ken T. Cuccinelli II said Thursday.

Cuccinelli (R) said that conflicting court decisions about the law’s constitutionality have created sufficient uncertainty about implementation of the sweeping law to justify speeding Supreme Court review.

The Justice Department will oppose the motion, saying that the case should be fully heard by lower courts before the Supreme Court takes action.

The high court has granted such requests infrequently, and many experts said they think Cuccinelli’s filing is a longshot. Supporters of the law said that the provision at the heart of the legal dispute – a requirement that individuals buy health insurance – will not go into effect until 2014.

Full article here [1]

Stock up with Fresh Food that lasts with eFoodsDirect (AD) [2]

Virginia to seek expedited Supreme Court review of suit over health care law 260310banner2 [3]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/virginia-to-seek-expedited-supreme-court-review-of-suit-over-health-care-law.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Washington Post: http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2011/02/03/AR2011020305532.html

[2] Stock up with Fresh Food that lasts with eFoodsDirect (AD): http://www.efoodsdirect.com/

[3] Image: http://purewaterfreedom.com/

[4] Combative Obama warns Supreme Court on health law: http://www.prisonplanet.com/combative-obama-warns-supreme-court-on-health-law.html

[5] Virginia Calls Health Bill Unconstitutional, Files Suit: http://www.prisonplanet.com/virginia-calls-health-bill-unconstitutional-files-suit.html

[6] High court health care decision expected next week: http://www.prisonplanet.com/high-court-health-care-decision-expected-next-week.html

[7] Supreme Court lets AT&T wiretapping immunity stand: http://www.prisonplanet.com/supreme-court-lets-att-wiretapping-immunity-stand.html

[8] Supreme Court, gun control, and the Second Amendment: a reckoning: http://www.prisonplanet.com/supreme-court-gun-control-and-the-second-amendment-a-reckoning.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.