- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

White House announces it will not send troops into Syria, deploys them to the border

Posted By admin On June 15, 2013 @ 5:41 am In Featured Stories,Tile,World News | Comments Disabled

Ariel Cohen
Daily Caller [1]
June 15, 2013

Three hundred U.S. troops now stand on the northern Jordan border adjacent to Syria, The Times of London reports [2]. The deployment will reportedly remain there for months under the guise of a training exercise.

The White House said Friday it does not plan to send U.S. troops into Syria, despite offering aid to rebel groups fighting President Bashar al-Assad.

“Nobody has asked us to [go into Syria]. The Syrian opposition does not think that it’s a good idea,” Ben Rhodes, current Deputy National Security Adviser for Strategic Communication, said during a White House press conference Thursday evening. ”We certainly don’t think it’s in our national interest to send U.S. troops.”

The White House distinguished their actions in the Middle East from those of the previous administration’s, expressing a reluctance to enter a scenario similar to the 2003 Iraq War.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/white-house-announces-it-will-not-send-troops-into-syria-deploys-them-to-the-border.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Daily Caller: http://dailycaller.com/2013/06/14/white-house-announces-it-will-not-send-troops-into-syria/

[2] The Times of London reports: http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/news/world/middleeast/article3791863.ece

[3] German cabinet decides to send troops to Turkey-Syria border: http://www.prisonplanet.com/german-cabinet-decides-to-send-troops-to-turkey-syria-border.html

[4] Iran Denies Plans to Send Troops to Help Syria’s Assad: http://www.prisonplanet.com/iran-denies-plans-to-send-troops-to-help-syria%e2%80%99s-assad.html

[5] Iran to send 4,000 troops to aid President Assad forces in Syria: http://www.prisonplanet.com/iran-to-send-4000-troops-to-aid-president-assad-forces-in-syria.html

[6] Turkey Deploys 25 F-16s To Syria Border: http://www.prisonplanet.com/turkey-deploys-25-f-16s-to-syria-border.html

[7] Lebanon sends troops to Syrian border: http://www.prisonplanet.com/lebanon-sends-troops-to-syrian-border.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.