- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

White House mum on preparations for verdict in George Zimmerman trial

Posted By admin On July 13, 2013 @ 5:57 am In Featured Stories,Tile,U.S. News | Comments Disabled

Justin Sink
The Hill [1]
July 13, 2013

White House press secretary Jay Carney on Friday sidestepped a question about whether the Obama administration was preparing for the possible public reaction to the verdict in the George Zimmerman trial.

“To suggest our views on — or anyone’s views here, whether it’s the president’s or anyone else’s views here — on an ongoing trial that’s about to go to jury, I think would be a mistake,” Carney said. “And potential outcomes and what might happen in an outcome, this is, you know, a jury in Florida in the United States that’s fulfilling its function — I mean, a trial and a jury —and we’ll obviously you know, be made aware of the results of that when they happen.”

Law enforcement officials in Florida have urged restraint ahead of the verdict, with the Broward County Sheriff’s Office releasing two public service announcements urging trial-watchers to “raise their voice, not their hands” if they are displeased with the verdict.

Members of the family of Trayvon Martin, who was shot and killed during a confrontation with Zimmerman, have also pleaded for peace.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/white-house-mum-on-preparations-for-verdict-in-george-zimmerman-trial.html

URLs in this post:

[1] The Hill: http://thehill.com/blogs/blog-briefing-room/news/310727-carney-mum-on-white-house-plans-for-zimmerman-verdict

[2] Broward County Sheriff’s Office Prepares Zimmerman Verdict Riot Plan: http://www.prisonplanet.com/broward-county-sheriffs-office-prepares-zimmerman-verdict-riot-plan.html

[3] How George Zimmerman Might Have Won the Trial on Day 5: http://www.prisonplanet.com/how-george-zimmerman-might-have-won-the-trial-on-day-5.html

[4] Hillary Clinton: George Zimmerman verdict brought ‘deep heartache’: http://www.prisonplanet.com/hillary-clinton-george-zimmerman-verdict-brought-deep-heartache.html

[5] The George Zimmerman Trial Is Not About Justice: http://www.prisonplanet.com/the-george-zimmerman-trial-is-not-about-justice.html

[6] Justice Department places ‘hold’ on Trayvon Martin trial evidence, including George Zimmerman’s gun: http://www.prisonplanet.com/justice-department-places-hold-on-trayvon-martin-trial-evidence-including-george-zimmermans-gun.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.