- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Why They Really Hate Toronto Mayor Rob Ford

Posted By admin On November 18, 2013 @ 6:05 am In Featured Stories,Tile,U.S. News | Comments Disabled

Daniel McAdams
Lew Rockwell Blog [1]
November 18, 2013

The media is full of revelation after revelation of the latest “evil-doing” of embattled Toronto mayor Rob Ford. But there are no doubt dozens of mayors and other local officials in the US and Canada who are awash in corruption and bad personal habits. Why no wall-to-wall coverage of their foibles? Why do the media and the elites really hate Rob Ford so much?

Why They Really Hate Toronto Mayor Rob Ford 181113ford

Image: Wikimedia Commons.

One clue is buried in yet another article [2] otherwise filled with salacious details of his latest brouhaha:

Part of that building has been a heavy emphasis on being accessible to constituents: Mayor Ford even gives out his cell phone number to voters, to call him any time about problems with city services or taxes.

He eschews a chauffeur and other city perks, all in the name of keeping spending down for the average taxpayer. He’s even been photographed reading work documents while driving on an expressway.

“I don’t believe in wasting taxpayer’s money,” he later said about the controversial photo.

Upon winning his first election, Rob Ford immediately garnered a reputation for keeping taxes and city expenses down. In 2001, he advocated cutting limousines as a city perk and slashing each councilor’s $200,000 budget, used for travel and club memberships. “If we wiped out the perks for council members, we’d save $100 million easy,” he said, according to the Toronto Globe and Mail.

In 2006, then-Councilor Ford offended the gay community when he questioned $1.5 million for an anti-AIDS program: “It is very preventable,” Ford said about the disease, according to City News Toronto. “If you are not doing needles and you are not gay, you wouldn’t get AIDS probably, that’s bottom line.”


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/why-they-really-hate-toronto-mayor-rob-ford.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Lew Rockwell Blog: http://www.lewrockwell.com/lrc-blog/why-they-really-hate-toronto-mayor-rob-ford/

[2] yet another article: http://www.cnn.com/2013/11/15/world/toronto-mayor-rob-ford-profile/

[3] ‘Drunken stupor’: Toronto mayor refuses to resign after admitting drug use: http://www.prisonplanet.com/drunken-stupor-toronto-mayor-refuses-to-resign-after-admitting-drug-use.html

[4] Workers at GM, Ford to Score Nice Bonuses This Year Read more: Workers at GM, Ford to Score Nice Bonuses This Year: http://www.prisonplanet.com/workers-at-gm-ford-to-score-nice-bonuses-this-year-read-more-workers-at-gm-ford-to-score-nice-bonuses-this-year.html

[5] New York City elects socialist mayor, because why not?: http://www.prisonplanet.com/new-york-city-elects-socialist-mayor-because-why-not.html

[6] Toronto Police to take up to $100-million of G20 security funds: http://www.prisonplanet.com/toronto-police-to-take-up-to-100-million-of-g20-security-funds.html

[7] US ambassador Robert Ford pelted with tomatoes in Syria: http://www.prisonplanet.com/us-ambassador-robert-ford-pelted-with-tomatoes-in-syria.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.