- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Worst Storm in 100 Years Seen for Northeast U.S.

Posted By admin On October 26, 2012 @ 2:20 am In U.S. News | Comments Disabled

Brian K. Sullivan
Bloomberg [1]
October 26, 2012

Hurricane Sandy will probably grow into a “Frankenstorm” that may become the worst to hit the U.S. Northeast in 100 years if current forecasts are correct.

Sandy may combine with a second storm coming out of the Midwest to create a system that would rival the New England [2]Hurricane of 1938 in intensity, said Paul Kocin, a National Weather Service [3] meteorologist in College Park, Maryland [4]. The hurricane currently passing the Bahamas has killed 21 people across the Caribbean, the Associated Press [5] reported, citing local officials.

“What we’re seeing in some of our models is a storm at an intensity that we have not seen in this part of the country in the past century,” Kocin said in a telephone interview yesterday. “We’re not trying to hype it, this is what we’re seeing in some of our models. It may come in weaker.”

The hybrid storm may strike anywhere from the Delaware- Maryland-Virginia peninsula to southern New England. The current National Hurricane Center track calls for the system to go ashore in New Jersey [6] on Oct. 30, although landfall predictions often change as storms get closer to shore.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/worst-storm-in-100-years-seen-for-northeast-u-s.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Bloomberg: http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2012-10-25/u-s-east-from-washington-to-nyc-at-risk-from-hurricane-sandy.html

[2] New England: http://topics.bloomberg.com/new-england/

[3] National Weather Service: http://www.nws.noaa.gov/

[4] Maryland: http://topics.bloomberg.com/maryland/

[5] Associated Press: http://topics.bloomberg.com/associated-press/

[6] New Jersey: http://topics.bloomberg.com/new-jersey/

[7] Worst Case Scenario: Hurricane Sandy Is The Biggest Storm Ever To Hit The Northeast: http://www.prisonplanet.com/worst-case-scenario-hurricane-sandy-is-the-biggest-storm-ever-to-hit-the-northeast.html

[8] Hurricane Irene: Major Northeast Threats: http://www.prisonplanet.com/hurricane-irene-major-northeast-threats.html

[9] The $100 Billion Storm: 17 Things You Should Know About Hurricane Sandy: http://www.prisonplanet.com/the-100-billion-storm-17-things-you-should-know-about-hurricane-sandy.html

[10] Tropical Storm Isaac Should Rival Hurricane Katrina: http://www.prisonplanet.com/tropical-storm-isaac-should-rival-hurricane-katrina.html

[11] Gore Attaches Global Warming as Cause to Last Weekend’s Storm in Northeast: http://www.prisonplanet.com/gore-attaches-global-warming-as-cause-to-last-weekends-storm-in-northeast.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.