- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

You won’t believe what teachers plan to tell kids about Trayvon Martin

Posted By admin On July 23, 2013 @ 11:06 am In Featured Stories,Tile | Comments Disabled

Robby Soave
Daily Caller [1]
July 23, 2013

In the wake of the verdict in the Trayvon Martin shooting, several teachers said they would invoke mob justice, vigilantism and the idea that Florida law allows people to hunt and kill black kids when discussing the case with their students.

The Hairpin, a prominent liberal women’s blog, asked  [2]several teachers, counselors and professors to explain how they would talk about the case — which reached its conclusion last week after George Zimmerman was found innocent of Martin’s murder — in their classrooms.

An anonymous English teacher in Alabama said that she would be hesitant to formally “teach” the subject, but nonetheless thought it could be brought up in relation to vigilantism in literature such as “To Kill A Mockingbird” and the works of William Faulkner.

“The thing is, I see Trayvon Martins everyday,” wrote the teacher. “I worry about young black men and their prospects in a world where a man is able to kill one without being convicted of something. Even if it isn’t as simple as that, kids will see it that way. Rednecks are holding their heads a little higher and tapping the guns on their holsters eager for a stand your ground moment.”

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/you-wont-believe-what-teachers-plan-to-tell-kids-about-trayvon-martin.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Daily Caller: http://dailycaller.com/2013/07/22/you-wont-believe-what-teachers-plan-to-tell-kids-about-trayvon-martin/

[2] asked : http://thehairpin.com/2013/07/teaching-trayvon/

[3] Trayvon Martin’s Dad Is A ‘Grand Master’ Freemason: http://www.prisonplanet.com/trayvon-martins-dad-is-a-grand-master-freemason.html

[4] President Obama: ‘Trayvon Martin Could’ve Been Me 35 Years Ago’: http://www.prisonplanet.com/president-obama-trayvon-martin-couldve-been-me-35-years-ago.html

[5] Bill Cosby Blames the Gun in Trayvon Martin Case: http://www.prisonplanet.com/bill-cosby-blames-the-gun-in-trayvon-martin-case.html

[6] In Reversal, Florida Judge Okays Testimony About Trayvon Martin’s Marijuana Usage: http://www.prisonplanet.com/in-reversal-florida-judge-okays-testimony-about-trayvon-martins-marijuana-usage.html

[7] Newt calls Obama’s Trayvon Martin comments ‘disgraceful’: http://www.prisonplanet.com/newt-calls-obamas-trayvon-martin-comments-disgraceful.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.